Whole Living Gal



Look, Ma, I’m Running! (…and also letting go of some judgemental attitudes)

Well, I did it…

I ran.

I loved it!

I’ve been wanting to start running again (I wrote about how much I’ve been craving it) and after getting the okay from my doctor to work it in now that I’m in my second trimester, I gave it a whirl.

The first time, I was cautious. I hopped on the treadmill and I planned to walk 5 min/run 5 min/walk 5 min/run 5 min/walk 5… So I warmed up with a brisk walk then I started a slow jog. It felt great in the sense that it was familiar – the initial jiggling, trying to find my rhythm – I had been here before. Well, 5 minutes of running passed and I kept going.

At about this time, I was starting to feel really good, finding my stride and I was tempted to yell out in the crowded gym: “I’m running!!”

It felt so freeing and seemed just what my body needed.

Although I did not shout anything out loud, I finished my run and got back on the treadmill a few days later and ran even longer, then I did it again a few days later. My sweet spot right now is a walk warmup then a 20-minute run, then cool down. After about 20 minutes, the pressure on my bladder is a little much and my pelvic bones start to ache.

But the running itself feels so good.

Honestly, I used to judge women who ran through their pregnancies and wondered what they were trying to prove. So part of what needed to happen was that I needed to get over myself and my judgements, listen to my body, and go for it.

I’m starting to realize that running seems to be such a sweet spot in general for me –  it feels good to find exercise that seems just right for my body – pregnant or not.

So I’m running – pregnant and all. And it feels great. Also, I’ve stopped judging women who continue doing hard exercise during pregnancy and I’m trying to check other judgements I have of people, too. Truth is, all of our bodies are different and we do the best service to our personal health when we listen to what our bodies are telling us.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jennifer says:

    Yeah! I’m glad you are able to do something that you enjoy and is good for you. I’ve been struggling with both being judgemental and comparing myself others. I pray that we both let go of it and give it to God. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • The comparison game is never-ending, isn’t it? Praying for you! You are a rock star 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    Good for you on all fronts! Love this! Although, with as big as your belly gets at the end of your pregnancies, I’ll be curious to see how long you’ll be able to go…front heavy on a treadmill can’t be safe…hehe!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  3. * sarah blight says:

    Hmm. Yes. I can do with a little less “judgment” in my life as well. Way to go mama. I did yoga today and I felt the same way — yippeee!! It feels so good to give your body what it craves (and I’m not just talkin’ about the sweet stuff;)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • Yes! Good for you on the yoga! …and the less judgment, too – it’s hard, isn’t it?

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

