Whole Living Gal



Second Trimester and Exercise

Well, I’ve hit the magic second trimester mark…and beyond. Honestly, I wish I could report that I’m feeling better. The truth is, there’s nothing easy about pregnancy. It’s a miracle and a blessing, but it’s hard work.

One of the biggest changes for this pregnancy (my 3rd) is that I am adding a lot more exercise to my routine. In the past, I have gone easy on myself and backed way off from exercise once I got pregnant. But after two c-sections (only 16 months apart) and then training and racing a 15K and a 10K a year and a half after my second was born, I realized my body is capable of a lot more than I thought.

Granted, pregnancy is a different time for my body. Overall, I am a lot more cautious. I know I can’t push myself too hard because my body responds much louder and clearer if I go overboard (i.e. I’ve passed out a few times when I was pregnant). But, keeping that in mind, I’m listening to my body and trying to push it a little harder in terms of exercise – knowing that I’ll reap the benefits of a healthier pregnancy and a speedier recovery (hello, 3rd c-section).

I stopped running when I got pregnant because I didn’t feel comfortable with it. I took up fast, uphill walking on the treadmill, a little elliptical, and a lot of yoga. It’s been awesome for me. It’s helped alleviate nausea and push past some fatigue. Also, because I joined a gym, I get a break from my kid duties so my exercise time becomes my “me time” too – very refreshing. I’m amazed at how well my body is responding. Folks, I did my first side-plank EVER in class the other day! So I am strengthening my core even as my belly is growing.

But I miss running. I miss it a lot.

David and I were side-by-side on the treadmills and he was jogging along at a pretty good clip. I was jealous. So I upped my speed, ran slowly for a minute and went back to my fast-walk pace. It felt good to run. Everything moved differently than it did before my baby belly. But it felt good.

After getting confirmation from my doctor (it’s important to work with your doc) that picking up running again is okay for me, I’m excited to hit the treadmill at a faster pace. Even if I don’t run races or go fast or long or hard, my mind and body are craving a good run.

And since I’m doing my best to listen to my body, I’m going to give in to this urge to run. I think it’s a craving worth saying “yes” to.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Look, Ma, I’m Running! (…and also letting go of some judgemental attitudes) « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 5 years, 5 months ago

Comments

  1. * elle dubya says:

    YAY!! You can do this. Being cautious is great but it’s frustrating to see soon-to-be moms use it as an excuse to do nothing but sit around all day eating bon bons “for two.” Keep us posted with your progress!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
    • Thank you!! Thanks for your encouragement, too!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Jamie says:

    Sounds like you are doing exactly what you should – listening to your body! If it’s craving a run, go for it (with care of course). If I have another baby, I would love to run through my pregnancy but I know really it comes down to listening your body. Have fun and definitely keep us posted!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

