Whole Living Gal



Third Time’s a Charm

I’m happy to announce that we’re expecting our third child sometime in late June! We’re THRILLED!

Our first pregnancy was planned, but it was all new and a bit overwhelming. Then I got pregnant almost right away with my second. And although it was the best surprise ever, I felt I was treading water trying to just make it through. It turned out to be a difficult pregnancy, not least of which had to do with my survival-mode mentality and trying to keep up with another infant and work two jobs (oops).

This time around looks very, very different. I’m trying to be proactive.

I took a good, long look at my lifestyle during my first (and very healthy) pregnancy compared to my second (and very unhealthy) pregnancy. I decided to make a few changes to my diet and lifestyle, and I believe these changes have made a big difference so far.

***I cut out caffeine. This was my number one priority once I saw the pink line on the stick. Since my second pregnancy, I’ve been battling migraines and headaches. I know I am sensitive to caffeine and thought eliminating it would help. I weaned myself very slowly from coffee to green tea to white tea to herbal tea. But once I was caffeine free, my headaches almost completely disappeared. I also noticed chocolate gave me headaches, too, so I’ve cut it out (a pregnant woman without her chocolate – life is sometimes not pretty).

***I’m going to bed earlier. It’s easy to get sucked into TV or the Internet until past my bedtime, but this round, I’m making a concerted effort to go to bed earlier (like when my kids go to bed).

***I’m exercising. This is a big one. I started this pregnancy in the best shape I’ve ever been in my life. In fact, before I knew I was pregnant, I ran a 10K. Impressive, huh? Although I did stop running once I knew I was pregnant (not necessary for all people, but something I chose for myself), I’m making an effort to stay in shape in other ways. We joined a gym so I can use the childcare (and it’s winter, so I’m not going outside to exercise!). The gym affords me a variety of exercise options: treadmill, elliptical, light weights, group fitness classes, and the pool. All great options for me during the pregnancy.

I think exercise has made a tremendous difference during my first trimester. In fact, I think this is the first, first trimester that I have exercised – and I feel a lot better. My nausea has decreased, my bowels are regulated and I have more of an appetite (this is the first time I haven’t lost weight during my first trimester). Three cheers for exercise!

***I’ve reset my expectations. My approach to this pregnancy is different. Because I know what to expect (in the fact that pregnancy is HARD WORK), I’ve reset my expectations including my priorities for each day, my to-do lists, my barometer of “feeling good” and my idea of a “cooking”. I’ve also let my children watch more TV, stayed in my pjs most days and have continued to remind myself that this will pass… During other pregnancies, I’ve felt like I’m drowning in the difficulty of managing my health and pregnancy and life. This time, I’m letting a lot of it go, doing my best, and riding the waves of good and bad (also a good lesson for life, isn’t it?). There’s a little person growing inside me, and I am thrilled…the hard work of pregnancy is all worth it.

{It should also be noted that I have the best, most supportive husband ever. He cooks, cleans, takes the kids, and makes late-night runs to JT’s Pizza Depot for Italian Subs. He’s shouldering a lot of extra weight at home as well as working full-time, and he doesn’t complain. He is awesome and supportive and I wouldn’t have had such a balanced, healthy pregnancy so far if it wasn’t for him. End gushing.}

::

Here’s to my third pregnancy being my healthiest, happiest, most-treasured-and-enjoyed pregnancy yet! I’m holding on through the pregnancy, trying to enjoy it and soak it in, but honestly, I’m most excited to meet my little one at the end of it all.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Congrats on #3! I love this post…especially the exercise and going to bed early parts…and the grace you’re extending yourself to just do the best you can.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • Thank you! It’s a lot of grace, too. A lot of grace 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  2. * sarah blight says:

    Yay! I love reading about what’s going on over there:) You’re rockin it mama!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Sarah Anne says:

    Just pure blissful feelings I have for you and the Hammond tribe!! Chilly willies too!! Can’t wait to hold that little one in June 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  4. aw, congratulations! that’s great news. I think my most recent (and I kinda hope my last) pregnancy sounds more like your second one. A lot less healthy than I would’ve liked, but baby Michael was fine. Good luck, and God bless!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • Thanks! In the end, a healthy baby is what’s important, isn’t it? Thankful for healthy babes, even after difficult pregnancies.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  5. * brooke says:

    awesome. so proud of you.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Luanne says:

    Good job. Proud of you and your approach! And I still stay in my jammies all day…there’s something wrong with that? LOVE YOU!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

