Whole Living Gal



Upping my Meal-Plan Planning

This week I upped the ante, so to speak, and I tried to plan for two weeks at a time instead of one, and I added breakfast to my plan as well.

I had been doing so well doing a loose two-week plan and then filling in the details week to week that I thought it would be no problem to add in a second week. NOT AS EASY AS IT SOUNDS!

I worked on my two-week plan one morning when I had a sitter to watch the girls; and as I organized and planned, I slowly got a headache.

Then, when I went shopping to execute said plan (with the intention of only going to the stores once for the whole two weeks), I overspent my budget by $20. Oops.

It’s all a process and I know the learning curve for me to plan and execute within my budget will take some time. So I’m giving myself grace. This is the first time I’ve overspent my budget since I started planning and getting serious about my budget, so I’m not getting in a tizzy over this particular $20. I will, however, resort back to week-to-week planning and once-a-week grocery trips.

On the other hand, the breakfast planning has been pure genius! After a few rough mornings of trying to come up with a breakfast idea based on what I felt like making and what I had time to make before my 19mo’s protests of “hung-key” reached epic levels, I decided I needed a plan.

Here it is:

Monday: eggs and toast
Tuesday: blender pancakes (I can’t remember where I got the recipe I am using, but it’s similar to this one)
Wednesday: baked oatmeal or overnight steel-cut oats
Thursday: waffles
Friday: cold cereal or leftovers
Saturday: [pumpkin] pancakes
Sunday: oatmeal with raisins

I love having a morning plan before the morning starts. Some of these recipes take prep the night before, which I thought would be a pain, but it’s easy and makes the mornings run more smoothly. Plus, I’ve worked the breakfast list into my budget for the week, so I know I always have everything on hand that I need.

::

This post is part of  a series called Project: Food Budget. A bunch of bloggers are participating – check out their posts, too, if you’re interested:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I’ve done meal planning before, but when life got crazy (ie, the birth of the Twinkies) I reverted to “fly by the seat of my pants” cooking. Life is about to get calmer for me (I can’t wait)…perhaps I’ll start planning again. And I’ve never planned for breakfast. But that’s a fantastic idea!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  2. I never thought about planning breakfast daily, although we love brunch and “brinner” (breakfast at dinner is a go-to around here). I am looking at weekends a little more for time for a “real” breakfast or brunch. The muffins last week were such a hit I’m thinking of making them part of weekend cooking.

    And meal planning for two weeks sounds like torture to me! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
    • * Luanne says:

      Hung-key…too cute! I tried two weeks too. I never flollow through because my prefernces change by the end of two weeks anyways…and some of the fresh ingredients can go bad before then! Weekly works best for me too 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Emily says:

    i used to go shopping every two weeks and ended up wasting so much food. i certainly admire those that can do it!

    love that you are adding in breakfast. lunch is the bigger challenge for us {actually, for the hubster – i do leftovers or salads}. we are still trying to figure that one out.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Irina G says:

    I love your idea of planning breakfast! I definitely never do and it can get a little hectic (and expensive, if I cave and buy something on the way to work). I’m trying this next week!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
    • I’m loving the breakfast planning!! I can’t say enough about it! Excited for you to try it…

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  5. * Shannon says:

    My son used to scream, “Hun-gy! T’eat!” over and over. (It’s because I would always say, ‘Are you hungry? Want something to eat?”

    That same son is now on a gluten free, dairy free diet, which can be a challenge. I like the plan ahead breakfasts! With 3 big eater kids, I can go through a box of cereal a day! I haven’t tracked it, but I’m sure it’s not very economical.

    My baked oatmeal recipe (uses 9 cups of oats) is easy to do as gf/df, and lasts at least several days for us! Also, I use apple sauce instead of oil to avoid fat.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

