Whole Living Gal



Sometimes Plan B Means Pulling Through a Drive-thru (and not feeling guilty…)

Last Friday I had the perfect end-of-week meal planned: local, organic, grass-fed burgers with roasted squash and “french fries” (i.e. roasted potatoes in the shape of fries)…also from our CSA.

I rushed home from an outing with the girls to chop the potatoes and get everything ready for dinner.Partway through the baking process, I tried to flip the potatoes, only to discover that not only was I flipping the potatoes, but with every turn, I was pulling up parts of the non-stick pan as well…and those non-stick parts were definitely sticking to my potatoes.

By this time, the burgers were ready for the grill and my family was getting hungry. So I jumped in the car, waived bye to my toddlers and husband, and drove myself to the nearest Culvers, where I ordered a family size french fry and brought it home (to some cheers) to my family.

Sometimes the best-laid [local, organic, homemade] plans fall through… And it’s times like these that I’m thankful for fast food and I serve and eat it guilt-free. Sometimes Plan B means fast food…and I’m okay with that. After all, keeping my sanity is part of living a healthy life – and last Friday night, those deep-fried french fries saved a little dose of my sanity.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Thank you for sharing this story. I’m at the point where I really need to know that sometimes the convenience foods are okay. Balance is so hard to learn!

    We have a Culver’s about 1/4 mile from our house. My rule is, if we want to eat there we have to walk. That way it’s not as convenient for me. That place was my downfall during my 1st pregnancy!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
    • Susie – it’s a total killer during pregnancy!!! I love your rule that you have to walk if you want to go there – adding a little exercise to a fast-food treat.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    That’s really funny! I would’ve just skipped the fries…I guess I’m too lazy to make the effort 🙂 You are a better mom than me!

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

