Whole Living Gal



Why Care about Whole Living?

Health is a daily pursuit.

Every day, we have the opportunity to make a healthy choice. In fact, it’s not just a daily choice, it’s a choice we can make over and over again, all day long…and start over the next day.

If you follow me on twitter, you know I harp on drinking water – all day…every day. It’s not enough to drink water once, it’s a lifestyle choice and even though I feel like I’m in the habit, reminders still help – all day, every day.

In this way, health is a discipline. And, really, no one likes to talk about that word – and it’s even less fun to pursue. And yet, so many of us are seeking after a healthy life. I am connected to moms groups, exercise groups, runners, and other health counselors through real life, twitter, facebook, blogs and books – I see these communities of people. All of them are trying to pursue health in their own way, and all of them are looking for support and encouragement along the way.

So I know people care about this idea of whole living and I’d love to hear why. I’ll get us started. Here’s why I care about whole living:

– I want to bring my best self to the table of life. Whatever I am doing, I want to come to that experience as the best version of myself that I am able.

– I want to take care of the body I am given. In this way, I see healthy living as an opportunity to worship God – each time I make a healthy choice that honors my body, I am ultimately honoring God.

– I want to be able to keep up with my kids!

– I want to model healthy living to my children. We all know that parenting is less about what we say and more about what we do.

– I love to eat – and part of living a healthy life is learning all about food and eating some darn good food.

– I know life is all about community, and for me, that means sharing some of my own journey in health to help support others who are also trying to live well. You are not alone!

But I am seriously curious – why do YOU care? If you’ve subscribed to my blog, I am curious about why… I mean, I know why I care, but why do you?

{And there’s no wrong answer here, folks!}

Ready, set, share…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Oh, there are a host of reasons that I care.

    ~I want to live an abundant life
    ~I want to FEEL good
    ~I want my children to share in the values of better eating
    ~I don’t want to waste my body by eating crap

    I’ll be very honest; for a long time it was all about my weight (something with which I’ve struggled for a long time). But, the healthier I’m eating and living, the more I realize that weight isn’t the issue. Health is. At my thinnest, I was my least healthy. Crazy, right? Emotionally and physically unhealthy (I lived on fiber bars).

    One of the things that I’m trying to learn is balance. I’m not good at it (I’m clumsy). I need to learn how to live in that sweet spot where I’m aware of healthy living, but not obsessed.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
    • Susie – you are so right: skinny doesn’t mean healthy! And I find I am with you – always trying to find that sweet-spot of balance. I’m proud of you!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
      • Thanks, Heather! And, I might add, being more health inspired has taken off 13ish lbs with very little effort. Just lots of good food!

        Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
      • Woot!

        Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  2. * shannon says:

    Welllllll…. I wish it was more about health and less about that number that shows up between my toes when I’m brave enough to take my stand on the scale. But, alas… that’s where I’m at right now. I just had my 40th birthday, and I’m noticing some changes. My body doesn’t ignore junk food the way it used to. Nor caffeine, nor lack of sleep, nor skipping breakfast… Thanks for the reminder to steward the ‘fearfully and wonderfully made’ body that God has entrusted me with.

    This is my first time on your blog, and I’m here by way of your friend Brooke, whom I met yesterday at ‘Breathe’. Actually, Brooke just mentioned your name because I told her I’m newly attending Ada (Kentwood campus), and then I saw your name again on Credo’s site, which I was checking out this morning. Sooo…. that’s how I got here. With all these connections, I’d love to meet you sometime. 🙂 Thanks for blogging.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
    • * Shannon says:

      Oops. My friend Brooke just told me that she doesn’t know you. Sorry, Heather! Guess I scrambled some names in my head! But I’d still love to meet you sometime :), and am enjoying your blog.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
      • Not the same Brooke, I guess! Thanks for your comments about my blog – hope we get to meet sometime, too!

        Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Pat McCain says:

    Hey, Heather:
    Thanks for asking! I love the feeling after eating living foods. There’s a lightness & energy & the flavors wake up my mouth.
    The trick for me, is to ‘remember’ when looking @ piles of food, then make the conscious decision to choose the best. I have also resigned from the “Clean your plate” club
    Pat

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Healthylife says:

    I have been trying real hard to change my way of living to a healthy approach. When we moved to our new home we were told we now lived in a cancer zone. So I set out to find a way to keep our family healthy. We have always eaten well and exercised I need something to take care of us on a cellular level.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

