Whole Living Gal



Tea Time

My headaches persist. If you’ve followed me for a while, or know me in person, you may recall the monster migraines I got when I was pregnant with my second baby. Well, they haven’t disappeared and I continue to be plagued with headaches.

I am taking a few different approaches to treating them and trying to find the cause and one of the most tangible is giving up my daily coffee.

I love coffee. I love everything about it. I love the smell, the taste, the nostalgia. Mmmm.

But, one of the suggestions from my holistic practitioner iis to back off on so much coffee (I average about 1-1.5 cups/day). I’ve decided I’m not giving it up entirely – because I know if I don’t make a black-and-white final decision about it, chances are higher that the change will stick.

And so far, it’s been great. I’ve switched to tea in my morning cup. The key with tea – for me – is to buy loose-leaf teas. They taste fresh and delicious. I can hardly go back to a tea bag now. Most mornings, I brew Earl Grey tea, but sometimes I drink green tea. Right now, I have a raspberry green tea that is so yummy.

Coffee is a source of a lot of issues for many people. For me, I think it’s the headaches (and it gives me the shakes if I have too much…and heightens my anxiety, too), so I’m moving it to the background in my life. Like I said, I’m not giving it up completely (in fact, my husband brought me a soy latte this morning and I savored it), but I am removing it from having such a big part of my everyday life.

You know what? I already feel better. It’s not a big, drastic change, but it’s subtle: increased clarity and reduced anxiety. I also think it’s helping with my headaches. Not to mention, I feel great about making a healthy choice for myself.

What about you? Have you given up coffee before? Soda? How did you feel?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Breaking Up is Hard to Do « sharing bananas pingbacked on 6 years, 4 months ago

Comments

  1. * sharingbananas says:

    Thanks for the inspiration! I have been contemplating doing the same lately. I’ve given up coffee in the past, but always come back to it. I only drink 1-2 cups a day, but it I don’t like being addicted to anything. I’m also feeling more stressed and anxious lately, and I don’t think the caffeine helps. I would like to transition to just having my green smoothies for energy in the morning and a little tea if I need a hot beverage to sip. I’m with you though, I don’t feel like saying that I will never have coffee again is the healthiest choice for me. I’d like to keep it as a treat, not a daily habit. I used the last of my coffee this morning, so maybe I will start tomorrow…

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  2. I used to drink diet soda like it was water. Seriously. One day I read an article about how awful the chemicals are. I’d had no idea. So, I quit drinking it. I drink more water, iced tea and treat myself occasionally to a soda. It is a great feeling to have all that aspartame flushed out of me. And I feel that I’m being a better example to my kids!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Elaine Ross says:

    I drink 6-8 cups a day and am getting concerned about what I might be doing to my body. Yikes !!!!!!! I am 68 years old. Please help me.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Nicole says:

    I have given up coffee two times. Both due to recommendations by naturopath. First time, living in Seattle working many hours, driving many hours and playing even more having 2-3 latte’s/day. Now I am working on eliminating my one cup a day habit. I have substituted tea as well, and it seems to be helping out. There is just something about starting my day with a little cup of warmth that helps get though some of the crazy.

    I like the days I don’t have coffee, even it I am craving it, my sleep is much more restful (even though I only drink one cup prior to 8:30 am) and my temper is less apt to flare on days sans coffee.

    I agree, if I were to tell myself ‘no more’, it would be much worse than allowing myself the choice, knowing the consequences.

    I appreciate your post and hope your headaches continue to improve!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

