Whole Living Gal



The Finish Line: a means to healthy living, not an end

I ran my first race last weekend – the Cherry Festival 15K.

I don’t think I realized how far 15K was when I signed up (thank you U.S. schools who ignore the metric system). But I was running with friends, and so I trained.

For me, I needed a goal to work through post-baby, post-2-c-sections, and I needed to challenge myself. After having two c-sections only 16 months apart, I thought I would never run again. So crossing the finish line meant so much more to me than just running 9.3 miles, it meant trusting my body again and feeling like I had really moved physically beyond having babies.

The finish line was also a means to a new life, not just an end. It’s been a week since my race, and I’ve run twice and biked once. Setting a healthy goal was not just about meeting the goal and calling it good, it was about establishing a new way of life, one that continues well beyond the finish line of the race.

Any healthy living goal can be just that – a means and not an end itself.

Quitting smoking.
Omitting soda from your diet.
Organizing a solitude retreat.
Eating local.
Running a race.

Meeting a goal feels so good. It’s been a week since my race, and I’m still on a high about crossing that finish line at full sprint. It created momentum and a new rhythm to help me continue to develop a more healthy, balanced life.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kristin says:

    I wish there was a ‘like’ button on blogs. Good for you!! What a great accomplishment. I hope you keep running…especially since you are running the good race!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I need a “like” button too. You’re so awesome. Thanks for inspiring me again. Love you and so excited and proud of your accomplishment!! YAY!!!!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
  3. Very inspiring, Heather. I’m so glad that you emphasis the goal as a means, not the end. That’s a focus I need to remember.

    Great job on your race!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Sarah Blight says:

    Congrats girl! I’m impressed that your first race was a 15K! That’s amazing:) love those endorphins!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
  5. * sharingbananas says:

    Amen. I wrote about something similar recently. It’s about creating a lifestyle change, not reaching a goal.

    Congrats on completing your 15k! I signed up to run a half marathon in October and am feeling the pressure!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Elaine Ross says:

    I noticed your comment about being off coffee. I drink a lot of coffee. What made you decide this ? I need motivation . Elaine Ross

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago
    • Hi Eliane! Thanks for the comment. I’m actually writing a post about giving up coffee – see what you think! I’m plagued with headaches, so I was motivated to get off coffee to help reduce or eliminate this issue. Good luck!!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

