Whole Living Gal



The Mental Game of Exercise

My friend Carrie is amazing. She works full time, has a toddler, her husband works as a stage hand (can you say crazy schedule?!), and she is training for a marathon. In Queens. Before she goes to work in the morning. See? She’s awesome. And she’s also blogging about it.

So when she asked me to run a 15K with her this summer, I thought, sure!

Then I immediately thought, who am I?And what have I said yes to?

So I’ve started running again and it feels good to be in a training regime…although I would use the word “training” lightly right now.

Sunday was the NYC Half Marathon and two of my friends (Carrie included) ran. I was so inspired that I went to the gym that night to see if I could run 2 miles. And I did!

I’m surprised by the strength of my body. But the hardest part of running for me is the mental game. I realized that I have developed the attention span of a toddler (wonder why? Oh, I have two at home) – always ready to jump into the next thing after about 5 minutes.

I’m trying to learn to be present at home and this same mental exercsise is carrying over into physical exercise as well. Right now, starting my training for this race is about the mental game of being present in the running and allowing myself to just, well, run.

I’m also holding my breath for spring so I can run outside…because running on a treadmill is pretty boring!

Whether you are a runner or a slow walker, what’s your biggest obstacle to physical exercise? Is it physical? Mental?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * darci says:

    atta girl, heather! for me, hot yoga has saved my monkey brain. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I can’t do anything unless I have an ipod stuck in my head 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
  3. * Joy says:

    How exciting, Heather! The irony to Luanne statement is my recent feat while running. I, too, am training! While I added miles, the i-pod became a crutch. One day I realized music disconnects me from the run. In turn, I realized I became dependent on music to get me through! So, I’ve been experimenting with alternatives: frequently change run routes, run early morning (quiet, star-lite sky, crisp air – I sense a closeness to God), and focusing on my fuel sources: prayer, food, rest. My i-pod is now a reward at times verses the alternative.

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
  4. I’m with Luanne, I have to have music to keep me moving! In my running days, I had to run outside to go any sort of distance. I have a hard time not getting bored on the treadmill. Lately, I have not been able to run, and the elliptical only gets about 15 minutes of my time before I have to get off and do something else!

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

