Whole Living Gal



The Great De-Clutter of 2011

After such an impressive start to blog-posting for 2011, you may have wondered to where I disappeared. If a picture is truly worth a thousand words, let me show you a glimpse of my basement and save a whole lot of wordy explanation.

This, friends, is the backs of closets, the bottoms of drawers, my attic, about half my kitchen and a full book shelf. And this is what I have been doing in my spare time. I am de-cluttering. I am simplifying and re-organizing, learning to live with less. You know what? I feel great! This project is energizing me.

Here’s one of my cupboards in my kitchen before (pardon the photo – I was holding a 1-year-old and trying to take a photo with my iPhone):

And here it is after:

I am making space in my life. Having less clutter around and putting my stuff in better order is giving me more time. It is also decluttering my thoughts, my prayers, my life. Now, the clutter is still IN my house, but I’m moving closer to simplicity.

I’m so not a garage-sale person. I applaud those of you who love to display, price, and sit in outdoor furniture for days haggling prices with complete strangers. But it’s not for me. So I’ve invited a few girlfriends over along with their junk so we can swap our stuff. At the end of the night, we’ll box it up and I’ll call Goodwill to come pick it up the next day.

It’s been an exercise in thanksgiving for me as well. So much of our stuff has been gifted to us over the years – from wedding presents, to friends moving out of the country, to our parents and on and on. We are so blessed. I’m not just giving away junk – there’s some good stuff to be had here. I know that just boxing our stuff up and giving it to Goodwill doesn’t take any grit, but I picture someone finding some of the great things I’m giving away  and taking them home so excited about their thrift-store find.

And I’ve also been re-inspired about thrift stores. Heck, if I’M giving away all this great stuff, there must be other good finds out there, too.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * nicolerenae says:

    Thanks for reminding me I need to do this too! And, in the back of my mind I’ve been planning one of those “exchange nights” for this summer, and I actually need to do it!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  2. * lcgerrity says:

    Nice work!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  3. I LOVE decluttering!! It is sooo cathartic for me. Definitely one of the perks of moving every 3 years but now we’re here to stay, I will for sure need to make the effort more often. It does feel so good.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Kristen says:

    That’s a great idea to have your girlfriends over for a swap. Wish I could come, I’d SO call dibs on the clock propped up back there. 😉

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  5. * Pat McCain says:

    Good for you, Heather; sounds like it’ll be fun with friends.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Jess says:

    love seeing the fruit of the labor i heard about last weekend! you are making amazing progress! so impressed. and yes, rekindle your love of thrifting! i am that person who would comes home so geeked about my fantastic thrifting find. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

