Whole Living Gal



Relationships and Getting Out of the House

I am an extrovert stuck in an introverted life right now. It’s winter, I have babies, it’s winter. Did I mention it’s winter and I have babies?

Well, it’s easy for me to get stuck inside – or to stay stuck inside. It’s easier for me to stick to the peace of the universe that is my routine than to just stinkin’ get out of the house and have a conversation with another adult.

Every day I am faced with a million excuses to stay in:

– someone’s nose is runny
– someone didn’t sleep
– it’s too cold
– it’s too windy
– someone might, just might, need a nap

And on and on. For me, sometimes it’s too tiring to try to get out. Because in order to leave the house, all three of us need shoes, jackets, hats; I have to start the car; then put baby in her car seat; load up the diaper bag; wrangle both kids into the van. By the time we actually make it out the door, someone has a dirty diaper or it’s lunch time or I’ve pulled a muscle carrying a child.

Get the picture?

But I’m an extrovert. For me, I feel a sense of life when I am with other people. Sometimes my children count as the “other people” – but they’re such little people…and they’re not great conversationalist (yet).

Having healthy relationships is a big part of living a healthy life. What that means is different for everyone during different seasons. For me, right now, I need to just get out of the house and meet up with a friend, have a play date, meet my workout buddy at the gym…something! Because though I love the online world, the relationships there are not the same as the face-to-face encouragement of a dear friend.

And with that, I’m off to the gym to hit the treadmill with my workout buddy. Exercise and friendship. Amen.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    Yes! Although im extremely sad it’s not me some of those times. I miss you a lot!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  2. * brooke says:

    well, how about you come over for dinner on friday? oh, wait, we’re already planning on that! good! 🙂

    totally up to you on whether you want to bring the girls along or attempt to get a sitter for them.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  3. * sarah anne says:

    Let’s pick a date!! It’s time … Spring is knocking on our door and our boys need to be re-united with their ladies!! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  4. the gym just wasnt the same without you 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

