Whole Living Gal



In the Kitchen: Gunpowder Green Tea (& its health benefits)

I decided I wanted to buy loose-leaf tea for a while. I like tea, but I have never fallen in love with tea. I usually just buy what is on sale in the box at the grocery store. You’d think I would know better; good ingredients matter, and that is true for meat and lettuce and even tea.

So I went to a local tea store and bought some loose-leaf green tea. I have heard and read all the great benefits of green tea (see below), but it hasn’t made a regular appearance in my diet. I thought if I had better quality tea, I would be more apt to drink it.

I bought gunpowder tea, mostly because it has a delicious smokey smell and it was almost gone at the store (which means other people like it!). Well, I love it! I mean, I love it. And I don’t just mean I tolerate drinking tea – I actually enjoy it.

Besides the taste, one of the coolest things to me is watching the dried leaves as they steep. I wasn’t sure why it was called gunpowder tea until I saw how the leaves explode as they become saturated. I have been so inthralled with this process that I had to take some photos.

Here are the dried leaves in the bottom of the cup. They are rolled up very small.

Now I add hot water.

And I let the tea leaves steep. They are beginning to unravel.

A little more time, a little more leaf.

Even more.

Look at that leaf! This process is so intriguing to me. And the taste of the tea is delicious. A side benefit is that the leaves are heavy and sink to the bottom, so I have been known to brew it just as these pictures are taken and drink the tea with the leaves still in the bottom.

A 2004 Harvard Health Study notes the benefits of drinking green tea:

“Tea’s health benefits are largely due to its high content of flavonoids — plant-derived compounds that are antioxidants. Green tea is the best food source of a group called catechins. In test tubes, catechins are more powerful than vitamins C and E in halting oxidative damage to cells and appear to have other disease-fighting properties. Studies have found an association between consuming green tea and a reduced risk for several cancers, including, skin, breast, lung, colon, esophageal, and bladder.

“Additional benefits for regular consumers of green and black teas include a reduced risk for heart disease. The antioxidants in green, black, and oolong teas can help block the oxidation of LDL (bad) cholesterol, increase HDL (good) cholesterol and improve artery function. A Chinese study published recently in the Archives of Internal Medicine showed a 46%-65% reduction in hypertension risk in regular consumers of oolong or green tea, compared to non-consumers of tea.”

The article says to brew unprocessed tea freshly three times per day and drink it between meals to get the maximum benefits from the tea.

Drink up!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tea Time « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 5 years, 9 months ago

Comments

  1. * Kristen says:

    I’m with you on not being in love with tea. But you’ve convinced me….I’ll have to look for this.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  2. * SEM says:

    It’s difficult not to gush about green tea. More than a decade’s worth of research about green tea’s health benefits — particularly its potential to fight.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Luanne says:

    Pretty table cloth to go along with your fun tea 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Joy says:

    A friend brought me the gift of loose leaf tea from remedyteas.com: wellness tea #4 ‘beauty’ and rooibos tea #105 ‘vanilla berry truffle’. They’re not green tea, but they each bring a slice of digestive and mental comfort! (ps – i miss global infusion)

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

