Whole Living Gal



Of the Spirit: Love (Week 4)

Thank you for the comments, e-mails, and conversations about last week’s topic of fear and love. It seems to have struck a chord. It’s a good reminder to share our stories – whether over coffee with a friend, in an e-mail, or while pushing kids in swings.

Secondly, I knew this would happen – we are at week four talking about Love and I feel like we’ve only scratched the surface.

So, for our last week on Love, I offer a challenge.

Commit to reading 1 John every day for the next week.

It’s a short book and John has a lot to say about love.

I took on this challenge last week, thinking I would post it this week, and it was a great exercise. I saw something different each time I read it and I kept my pen handy to make notes. I like to write IN my Bible (or any book I own for that matter – which is an issue for my 2yo to process…she wants to write in books, too…). It’s good for me to see what I underlined yesterday and compare it to what is standing out as I read it anew.

It’s one thing to read and one thing to apply – and I’m embarrassed by some of the un-loving reactions I had this week. But I don’t think I would have noticed them as much had I not been reading and focusing…so I’m learning. I’m in process.

Are you up for the challenge?

Let’s commit to reading the whole book of 1 John every day this week!

What better way to begin this Lenten season than focusing on the Words of God about His love. During a time when we intentionally seek out remembrances of his sacrifice and ultimate gift of love on the cross, we can allow the words of 1 John to root themselves into our hearts.

::

I’d love to hear your thoughts and what you are learning about love (sharing our stories, right?!). Leave a comment or shoot me an e-mail (heatherehammond@gmail.com).

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    I love this challenge. Im in.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

