Whole Living Gal



Plan B: Survival Mode

I don’t want to blather on about my children…especially my sick children. But, my kids are sick. I have two girls – a two-year-old and an 11-month-old. The older has a cold and the younger has pneumonia. Poor little lambs. Also, poor parents. This basically means my husband and I haven’t slept through the night in over a week. And some nights have been rough.

These days feel like we are in survival mode – just trying to make it moment to moment, continually asking for patience, grace, and immense doses of all-things-Spirit-related. I don’t want to over-dramatize our situation because I know parents who are going through much worse with their children. But for us, this week, it’s hard.

It’s times like these when plans are scrapped for plan B and we do the best we can, knowing this, too, shall pass.

I have some awesome friends who have stepped in to help. Today, a friend Julie came by to pick up my older daughter and run errands with her. Yesterday, a friend Brooke went to the grocery store for me. (I should add she gets extra points for this because she’s also pregnant and lugging around my groceries.)

When I made the shopping list for Brooke, I had to re-think my weekly menu. Every day, at about 3pm, I think, “Eh, let’s just order a pizza for dinner.”

But eating pizza every night is not going to bring us closer to healing – and I know food is powerful, so eating well is important, especially right now. Who wants to cook right now? And how am I supposed to cook when I have sick kids?

So I’ve scrapped my previous plans and have moved toward simplicity. One night, we ate cereal, then were hungry so my husband made a chicken salad from the leftover roast I made on Monday. And I centered my new meal plan ideas around simple meals that don’t take much cooking and chopping and that I’ve made a million times:

– Extra eggs for a quick scramble if we’re in desperation
– Layered burrito bake (I made this last night w/ ground chicken, onions, beans, peppers, tortillas and cheese)
– Pasta w/ ground beef (and whatever veggies I can scrounge up)
– I also have some random white sweet potatoes that I have been loving recently – these are super easy roasted or sauteed or mashed into quesadillas.

There have been some bright spots to our week. On Tuesday, our pediatrician sent us down to the hospital for X-rays to verify the pneumonia. Now, no one wants to take their child to the hospital. No one. But we have a brand-new children’s hospital that just opened last month, and it’s gorgeous. So amidst an otherwise stressful situation, we were able to be in a great facility. Here’s David walking in the crosswalk from the carport to the hospital – this is just the crosswalk, folks!

And this mural is in the lobby. It’s so gorgeous and sunny and bright. It’s a reminder to think on things that are good and true – even (and especially) during trying times.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. In the Kitchen: Chicken Soup (for Two Households) « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 3 months ago

Comments

  1. * Molly says:

    sorry the girls are sick 😦
    If you need me to pick up anything for you, just let me know!! xoxo

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  2. I always think of that time of my life as being “in the trenches.” You are so blessed to have such good friends that ran errands for you!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

