Whole Living Gal



Food for Healing

My children are sick. It seems like everyone’s are sick right now. And even adults have some junk going around, too.

So I’m focusing my planned meals around foods that heal: whole, healthy foods that are clean and full of nutrients.

Sunday I made a broth-y soup from leftover, homemade stock.

COCONUT CHICKEN SOUP
(from Nourishing Traditions)

1 quart chicken stock (or turkey or duck)
1 1/2 cups whole coconut milk (I used a can)
1/4 cup dried chile flakes (I left these out since I wanted to feed this to my children)
1 tsp fresh grated ginger
juice of 1 lemon
sea salt
finely chopped green onion (optional)
cilantro (optional)

Bring the stock to a boil, skim off foam, add coconut milk, lemon juice, chile flakes and ginger. Simmer 15 minutes. Season to taste with salt and top with green onions and cilantro. (I also added leftover cooked brown rice at the end and served the whole thing for lunch).

::

Last night I baked a whole chicken, roasted beets (all that color = full of nutrients) and made a chopped beet salad, and crispy kale.

Here’s what I did with the beets:

1 bunch of roasted, cooled, peeled & chopped beets
Homemade vinaigrette (about 1 tsp each dijon mustard & agave, about 2 TBS balsamic vinegar, Olive oil, salt/pepper whisk it together)
Feta cheese

Just mix it up. The feta is optional because the roasted beets lose all that earthy-ness that can sometimes be overwhelming and just get sweet. This would be great with just the vinaigrette. But I’m not saying I would turn down feta cheese.

Additions to the salad: chopped walnuts, fresh beet greens chopped fine (this is a great option in the summer when the beets & greens are fresh…mine were not organic and from the store, so I didn’t do this), and/or chopped fresh parsley.

So good!

::

By ommiting processed, sugary foods and focusing on whole, clean, simple foods, I am feeding our bodies food that is not just fuel, but also packed with nutrients, which will heal and cleanse. I am also cutting out stress on the body by serving foods that are full of nutrients rather than just empty calories. It’s amazing how well our bodies can usually heal when we get a cold – I want to do my part to help with that healing process by consuming good foods that move us toward health.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Plan B: Survival Mode « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 2 months ago
  2. In the Kitchen: Chicken Soup (for Two Households) « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 2 months ago

Comments



Leave a Reply

