Whole Living Gal



Golden Carrot [& Rice] Bake

If you’ve been reading my blog for at least a week, you know my love for the cookbook Simply in Season – it’s by far my favorite cookbook around (I’ve posted recipes here and here). I love eating seasonally, and this book makes it easy. Plus, the recipes are delicious and because it’s focused on what is growing during a given season, the recipes center on fruits and vegetables.

I was perusing the winter recipes and decided to make the Golden Carrot Bake the other night for dinner. It was/is delicious! It’s a bit time consuming, but worth it. And I love this dish because it’s a great food and leftover meal for my 10mo and 2yo. It has vegetables, a grain, eggs, milk (I used almond)and cheese. So yummy.

Here’s the recipe:

GOLDEN CARROT BAKE

3 cups shredded carrots
1 1/2 cups water
2/3 cup uncooked brown rice
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
Combine in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 25 minutes. Do not drain.

1 1/2 cups Monterey Jack cheese (shredded)
1 cup milk
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup onion (chopped)
pinch of ground nutmeg
Stir in and transfer to a 1 1/2-quart casserole dish. Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

1/2 cup Monterey Jack cheese (shredded)
Sprinkle on top. Return to oven long enough to melt cheese – about 2 minutes.

::

If you love this cookbook and the recipes I post from it, check out The Local Cook. She cooked her way through the whole book so you can search her posts for the recipe you’re making. I love doing this. She posts her review of it as well as add-ons (like for this recipe, her husband topped his with sour cream – yum!) and nutritional information.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What are some easy Costa Rican food recipes? | Cool Cooking Recipes pingbacked on 6 years, 10 months ago
  2. Easy Ways To Spruce Up A Fresh Garden Salad | Cool Cooking Recipes pingbacked on 6 years, 10 months ago

Comments

  1. so glad it turned out for you!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
    • I was just feeding the leftovers to my kids for lunch and reminded what a great recipe it is. I feel I have only scratched the surface of that cookbook…and I’ve had it for a couple of years 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Molly says:

    ooh, that sounds good – putting it on the list for next week’s meals – thanks!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
    • I was surprised by it – very yummy. And the leftovers have been great to heat up for lunches.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

