Whole Living Gal



Relationships are Primary Foods

At the Institute for Integrative Nutrition where I studied, they talk about the importance of eating whole, healthy foods. But those are only secondary to your health. There is another list of non-food items that are primary to your health; they call them “primary foods”: relationships, career, spirituality, exercise (and I add one more: rest).

Today is a day of love where we focus on showing love to those close to us.

What a great day to be reminded that developing and cherishing healthy relationships is primary to living a healthy life. When our relationships with those closest to us are thriving, we are on track to living a healthy, vibrant life.

Today is a great day to start. Tell someone you love him or her. Write a note. Write a song. Heck, write a poem.

With my husband, I try to be really specific when I communicate my love to him. When we took our vows, I promised to love him the rest of our lives together. So it’s great to say “I love you” plain and simple. But it’s also important to tell him specific things that I love about him – I know he cherishes those words, and it’s good for me to be reminded of why I fell in love with him and why I continue to fall in love with him. Be specific!

Remember to continue to nourish these relationships all year long. Healthy relationships are a primary ingredient to a healthy life.

Happy Valentines Day!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jennifer says:

    I LOVE it that you added “rest” to the list of primary foods, and I appreciate the reminder about being specific when communicating love–it really means so much more that way. Thanks, and Happy Valentine’s Day!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
    • Thanks for the comment, Jennifer – I went to your blog and connected with you on twitter, too! 🙂 Have a great day!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Adrienne says:

    Hi Heather!
    I didn’t get the chance to meet you last night, but I wanted to!
    I would love to know what you studied at the Institute. I am considering getting a diploma in nutritional counseling or holistic health practitioner. I have been working on a lot of health issues and am thinking about going deeper. I would love to connect w/ you whenever the time affords!

    Nice blogs!
    – Adrienne

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

