Whole Living Gal



Exercise and Energy

I know I’ve been talking about exercise recently, but I’m getting back in the game after two pregnancies and two c-sections and I’m excited about it!

First of all, we joined a gym. At the time we joined, we had no idea this winter would be as hard as it has turned out to be and having a place to go – with outstanding childcare – has saved my sanity on more than one occasion.

Last week was the blizzard – you all know this. And between that and a sick-ish baby, we didn’t make it to the gym at all. By the end of the week, I was beyond tired. I mean, I was first-trimester tired (and I’m not pregnant). Everything about me felt like it was dragging.

This week, I made a point to get back to the gym. And as a bonus, my exercise buddy and I reconnected and were able to hit the treadmills two days in a row together. Good conversation and a workout has done me wonders.

For the first time in a very long time, I feel not just not tired, but I feel energized. Two days in a row I have had the energy to push through my children’s nap time instead of crawl into bed at the first sign of quiet. Now, I still gave myself quiet time yesterday (today was a whole different story with my children tag-teaming naps…I NEEDED the energy), but I didn’t have to drag myself through the day, which was becoming the norm.

Before my pregnancies, I was a regular exerciser. But during my second pregnancy, I had to cut it out altogether and opt for lots of bed-lying and low lights, thanks to pregnancy migraines. For the first time in my life, I took a real hiatus from exercise.

Which is why I think I am seeing such dramatic results right now. After being away from it for so long, I am amazed at how my body responds so positively to a little extra movement, a little sweating, a little physical challenge. Exercise really has given me extra energy.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 10 Ways to Reduce Sugar Cravings « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 9 months ago

Comments

  1. * Lorna Dobson says:

    I’m so glad you have a place to go where the girls can do new things and see other people, too! Even if it isn’t your favorite place to go for yoga, at least you have a good foundation to do something where you are.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. I have a gym membership but only go in the summer when I need to get swim practice in for tris.

    For some reason I don’t feel energized when I exercise. Good, yes, but exhausted. I’ve been cross country skiing for 1 1/2 – 2 hours a couple of times a week and I always sleep like a log that night and am so tired the next day.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
    • Well, sleeping like a log is good! But the fatigue is not. Could it be linked to something else?

      I will say that cross country skiing for that long would tire me out, too! I’m a bit more lax – I take a class or hit the treadmill for 45 minutes 🙂

      Do you do triathlons often? That’s a genre of exercise that I have immense amounts of respect for!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Alison says:

    I can definitely relate. I went walking outside twice this week and it felt great! It’s hard for me to take those first steps, but after that I remember how good and energizing it feels.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
    • Alison – the fresh air is the one thing I miss when working out at the gym! That in itself is totally energizing.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

