Whole Living Gal



In the Kitchen: Lamb Shanks

Last week’s biggest suprise during my clean-out-the-cupboard week (which incidentally is stretching into this week) was lamb shanks! I was thrilled to find these in my freezer. I braised them, we ate them for one meal and I used the leftovers to make into a spinach casserole, which turned into a couple of meals, too.

I got the braised lamb shank recipe from The Supper of the Lamb – a book I am reading, which I can say is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. I’m slowing down in my reading because I don’t want it to end…

The author has a chapter devoted to braised lamb, at the beginning of which I wrote (after preparing the recipe):
*make this as often as possible

Enjoy!

Braised Lamb
(From The Supper of the Lamb)

6 garlic cloves, peeled & cut lengthwise into 3-4 slivers each
little olive oil
2-3 medium onions, peeled and sliced
cup of dry white wine
a little salt and pepper
pinch or so of dried thyme

Make slivers in the meat and insert garlic cloves. Heat a large dutch oven or heavy pan on the stovetop with the olive oil. Brown the meat. Add the onions and stir until browned. Add the wine, thyme and salt and pepper. Cover the pot and cook on the stove top or in a moderate oven for two hours.

::

I served this with brown rice cooked cooked in a can of diced tomatoes and water, topped with chopped kalamata olives and feta. Simple, delicious meal.

Leave a Reply

