Whole Living Gal



Project: Happily Ever After

Nurturing the relationships around you are an important part of healthy living. If you are married, there is no closer relationship than your spouse.

Before I married my husband, I read a lot of books about marriage, communication, and the differences between men and women. David and I spent hours talking about marriage and communication and the differences between men and women.

That was over 5 years ago. Since then, we’ve moved to a new state, moved through new and different careers, bought a house and had two children. In short, life happened.

So when I picked up the book Project: Happily Ever After I was excited to read about marriage again and talk with David about some basic fundamentals to preserving a healthy relationship.

Author Alisa Bowman writes about her own story of her failing marriage and how she set about a four-month project to save it – as one last-ditch effort. She’s a fabulous writer and I loved reading her story. She also inserts her own advice throughout the story in a fresh way.

Even though my marriage is not in the pits, I think it’s important to read and talk through issues BEFORE they happen. I can see how life and kids and jobs and house projects can pile up year after year until you look across the dinner table at your spouse and think, “I don’t even know you any more.”

The truth is, healthy relationships take work – and marriage is no exception.

I recommend this book to anyone who is married – or anyone thinking about it. The story line is captivating, but more than that, Bowman’s honesty is refreshing. I am embarrassed to recommend a book with so much, um, intimate details in it. But then it occurred to me that I don’t read about that kind of stuff anywhere else (I’m certainly not going to google it!) and my friends aren’t talking about it. Intimacy is an important part of a thriving marriage, and Bowman handles this topic well – and even tells her own story to returning to that place with her husband. For this pretty naive gal, I’m thankful she was willing to share the details.

Maybe you’re in a place in your marriage when you feel like your fairy tale is faltering and you could use a little (or a lot) of encouragement from someone who’s been there and come out the other side with her prince still on her arm. Read this book. It’s worth the time. Your marriage is worth the effort.

End sermon.

This book was surprisingly lovely and I hope you’re able to pick up a copy.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Links « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 7 months ago

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    Im intrigued. It is a lot of work, coming from someone who has been on both sides of the fairy tale 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

