Whole Living Gal



Savor the Simplicity

I’m reading books about savoring food and enjoying it. So, what do I do? I buy butter and make some really rich foods.

Now, part of this is my learning curve. I am prone to avoid these delicious dishes, and now I am savoring them. It’s amazing the things you can create in the kitchen.

But our stomachs are rejecting the rich dishes. My pour family was left in quite a state after last night’s risotto. When you’re the cook, you’re also expected to be the nutritionist and then the pharmacist if anything goes awry. That’s a lot of pressure.

While I do enjoy these party dishes from time to time, I crave simple, whole foods from clean, organic ingredients. Beans and rice. Roast chicken and vegetables. A brothy soup.

It’s easy to learn to enjoy the layered, heavy foods. It takes some noticing and appreciation – not to mention a desire for a healthy gut – to enjoy the simple but savory foods.

Tonight, I’m returning back to an old standy-by. I have some bread going in the breadmaker and my stove will soon simmer with Italian Red Lentil Soup.

I read a whole chapter devoted to cutting an onion, in which the author makes a case for paying attention – and that cooking is a sacrament. There is time for festive eating and decadent foods, but there is something sacred in learning to savor the simple in everyday foods.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    Also intrigued! What book are you reading?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
    • “the supper of the lamb” – written in 1969, was out of print & now back. Theology & cooking – I love it!!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

