Whole Living Gal



Sweet Potato Quesadillas

I know I posted a recipe yesterday, but you’ll thank me for this one, trust me. This comes from Simply in Season.

Sweet Potato Quesadillas

1 1/2 c minced onion
2 cloves minced garlic
4 cups shredded, raw sweet potato
Saute in large frypan with 1-2 Tbs oil until potatoes are soft & onions translucent

2 tsp dried oregano
1 1/2 tsp each dried basil, marjoram, chili powder
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
pinch of ground red pepper or to taste (optional)
Add and cook another minute.

8 tortillas
1 cup sharp cheddar cheese
Spread about 1/2 cup filling & 2 [liberal] Tbs cheese on half of each tortilla, leaving a 1/2-inch border on the sides. Fold tortilla in half. Place on oiled baking sheets. Brush tops with oil. Bake in preheated oven at 400 degrees until brown, 12-15 min. Serve with sour cream & salsa (& guacamole!).

::

Oh. My. Word. These are beyond delicious. I applied a liberal amount of filling to the tortillas and made 3, not the 8 the recipe said it made. But I may have used less sweet potatoes than the recipe called for. My main disappointment is that there were no leftovers to snack on later.

I am currently plotting when and where I will obtain more sweet potatoes so I can make this again…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. In the Kitchen: Weekly Menu « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 7 months ago
  2. 10 Ways to Reduce Sugar Cravings « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 7 months ago
  3. Plan B: Survival Mode « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 7 months ago

Comments

  1. this is one of my favorite recipes that I’ve made from Simply in Season!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  2. * anne says:

    I may have to try this one. We generally have sweet potatoes around as it is a great mac & cheese add-in and it’s perfect for mixing with everything else for baby food purees. It sounds like a very warm, wintery meal!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Sarah B says:

    Ohh! Good idea! I just bought sweet potatoes… thanks I’ll
    give this one a try:)

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Luanne says:

    Oh! Try the Black Bean Sweet Potato Burritos in the same cook book…LOVE THEM!!!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Emma says:

    I’m going to have to try this! Sweet potatoes are one of my all time favorite foods in any form!! And these sound a little comforting…I could use some of that this week I think.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
    • I’m thinking about you and praying for you, Emma. This recipe is definitely comfort food, enjoy!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
      • * Emma says:

        Thank you Heather. That means a lot.

        Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  6. We love sweet potatoes – definitely going to have to try this!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
    • It’s seriously delicious!! You won’t regret trying this recipe 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

