Whole Living Gal



In the Kitchen: Vegetable Coconut Curry

I’m on a coconut milk kick. I’m putting it in smoothies, soups, curries. I would eat it straight out of the can if I felt that was acceptable. Because it’s cold and wintry, I am craving the fatty, smooth, creamy texture of this yummy food.

I made this Vegetable Coconut Curry recipe yesterday for lunch – so delicious!

1 lg red onion
1 TBS coconut oil
1 red bell pepper
1/2 each yellow & orange bell pepper
handful of green beans
Thai basil pesto (see note)
1 can coconut milk
1 can organic diced tomatoes
splash of lime juice
1 tsp green curry paste
salt/pepper to taste
cooked brown rice (in chicken stock, if you have it)

Saute onion in cocounut oil with salt.

Add peppers & green beans, saute about 3 minutes.

Add Thai basil pesto & green curry paste & mix to coat veggies.

Add coconut milk, tomatoes, lime juice.

Simmer about 15-20 minutes until veggies are tender.

Serve over brown rice & top with chopped peanuts & cilantro.
(I’m fairly good at remembering to take photos until the meal is ready and it’s time to eat – then I am blinded by the desire to eat the food in front of me!)

*Note: This summer, when I could buy fresh Thai basil, I made a version of pesto that I froze in ice-cube trays and have been adding to curries and soups. It’s basically Thai basil leaves, ginger, garlic and olive oil blended. You could certainly substitute fresh ginger and garlic and add basil at the end.

**Note: I found this recipe all by itself to be a little bright. I think the chopped nuts at the end are a must. Otherwise, add some chopped chicken breast or a can of garbanzo beans to ground the dish a bit.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sweet Potato Quesadillas « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 10 months ago

Comments

  1. * Pat McCain says:

    My mouth is watering! and thanks for the tip on freezing pesto-fresh herbs in ice cube trays.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Molly says:

    mmmm…..sounds good šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

