Whole Living Gal



Beat the Blues with Some Exercise

I woke up yesterday morning with a serious case of the Mondays. And not just the “Mondays,” but the WINTER Mondays.

I live in Michigan and the winters are tough. If it weren’t for the gorgeous summers when we forget how cold and grey it gets from November to April, no one would survive in this climate. No one.

Every year I forget and then I am surprised when I wake up one January morning to an outside temp of 3 degrees. I waited and waited for my phone to load the weather the other day, thinking it just wasn’t finished. But no, it was literally only 3 degrees.

Yesterday I had trouble pulling myself from bed because I was just feeling blah. Our suitcases are still out and packed from the vacation we completed last week and I knew there was a load of household chores to be finished. And frankly, I didn’t want to do any of it.

I knew a friend was going to a group fitness class at 11 am at the gym where we belong, so I decided to set my sights on that goal. Afterall, if nothing else, I would get a break from climbing, teething, attention-grabbing babies for a bit (can you tell I was tired? You know I love my babies).

I made it to the gym – early! – checked in my children, and went to a class. Now the class itself was beyond hard; the instructor was obviously there to show off his massively masculine self in front of a bunch of stay-at-home moms and was doing his level best to make one of keel over. (I’m sorry you’re not getting the full story – it’s a good one – you’ll just have to wait until my book is released…) I guess this class makes me 0/0 in terms of group fitness – and still I just can’t stop!

But I made it through the class and home and through lunch and onto nap time. I got a shower and before I knew it, my day was transformed. I was happy and more patient. I tackled my household chores with a little more gusto. I made dinner. I colored with my toddler. I snuggled with my infant.

It was a good day.

And it turned around because I got a little exercise. Well, I got a lot of exercise, thanks to a crazed instructor. But I got my body moving, pushed it a little harder than I otherwise would, got a break from my children (yes, we stay-at-home-moms need that), and the result was a natural mood lifter.

You know those things researchers and doctors say about exercise reducing stress and fighting anxiety and the blues? It’s true.

Get out.
Get moving.
Get going.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Exercise and Energy « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 4 months ago
  2. 10 Ways to Reduce Sugar Cravings « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 4 months ago

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    Like I said before, 3 degrees is warm here 🙂 I need to get moving again. Mostly because I’m bored during the day a lot with the same routine. This would mix it up. I just wish we could go together!!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Kristen says:

    While I can’t exercise (boo, back problems), getting OUT in general helps energize me a ton (even in Florida wonder-winter 😉 Can’t wait to hear the muscular instructor story. I bet it’s good 😉

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  3. Oh such a great perspective. I was just thinking that
    yesterday when I worked out, afterwards the endorphins were kickin’
    and it just felt like I had more balance in my life.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

