Whole Living Gal



In the Kitchen – …Somewhere

I’ll be back to videos soon, but in the meantime, a story…

It’s probably what I get for making this buttery, sugary, ooey, gooey Baked French Toast from the Pioneer Woman. Also the fact that I am sleep deprived. Also that I was trying to assemble Christmas breakfast at 11:30pm Christmas Eve.

Whatever the culprit, I took off my wedding and engagement rings to mash up the crumbly topping for the casserole, and a few minutes later, when I started to put on my rings again, only my wedding ring was on the counter.

I hadn’t had them off very long, so I just started searching the obvious places. Then I started searching the not-so-obvious places. Then the cracks and crevices of my kitchen. Then I was rifling through the trash at midnight, and I think it was at this point that I lost all my composure.

My husband was at the 11pm service at our church (he works at the church, so that’s why he was there without us…) and I called him sobbing. To which he calmly told me to go to bed; we’d find it tomorrow.

(Why are my stories ending with me sobbing in the kitchen recently? I need to buy some happy lamps for my kitchen. Or venture into other rooms of the house..)

Well, it’s after Christmas and we haven’t found my engagement ring. To say I’m sad is a bit of an understatement. Sometime I’ll have to tell you the story of waiting for this ring. And it should also be noted that my dad’s cousin in Northern Ireland made it. He’s like an uncle to me. He’s also a very good jeweler.

But at some point during the day on Christmas, I had to move on. (This probably coincided with me opening the bottle of sparkling wine.) It was no use looking anymore, at least not right now. I’m hoping it will show up. I’m hoping my 9-month-old, who finds the tiniest specks on the floor and tries to eat them, will find this very shiny object for me. But I’m trying to let it go…not let it ruin this holiday season. I’m believing that this lovely and terribly sentimental ring is somewhere in my kitchen and that I’ll find it again.

Also, I’m blaming the Pioneer Woman. It’s a lot easier when you can place blame on a complete stranger.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. In the Kitchen: Clean the Cupboards « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 10 months ago

Comments

  1. * Molly says:

    Could it be in the French Toast… did you eat it all? I’m so sorry to hear that, but I’m sure it will turn up!
    BTW, the raw milk was great…it’s already gone!! Thank you so much for that πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago
  2. * susan says:

    I thought of the french toast too! I will pray that you find it, so sorry –

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Luanne says:

    Sigh…

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Sarah B says:

    Oh gosh. My stomach dropped when I read this. I am praying
    that it makes its whereabouts known! So frustrating:(

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  5. * brooke says:

    oh, i’m so sorry, heath. did you find it yet? (i’m reading this post a bit late).
    i hope your christmas was lovely in spite of it (and i suspect that it was). i remember well the debacle of the late-coming ring. what drama it stirred up at the time. but now it leaves an aftertaste of sentimental warmth. πŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

