Whole Living Gal



In Worship: All Things New

O Holy Night! The stars are brightly shining,
It is the night of the dear Saviour’s birth.
Long lay the world in sin and error pining.
Till He appeared and the Spirit felt its worth.
A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices,
For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn.
Fall on your knees! Oh, hear the angel voices!
O night divine, the night when Christ was born;
O night, O Holy Night , O night divine!
O night, O Holy Night , O night divine!

I love this hymn – it’s probably one of my all-time favorites. And if you know me, you know I love hymns, so this is saying a lot. I don’t know if it’s the rhythm, the sad, melodic drone or the lyrics…but all of it combined, and every time I sing it, I get chills.

This holy night, the night divine, that our dear savior was born. I love that the hymn commands us to fall on our knees and listen to the angels. Thinking about God becoming flesh, there is nothing to do but fall on our knees and sing along with those angels.

But where this hymn really gets me is the last verse. I go from chills to downright tears to sometimes embarrassing sobs and mascara-stained face.

Truly He taught us to love one another,
His law is love and His gospel is peace.
Chains he shall break, for the slave is our brother.
And in his name all oppression shall cease.
Sweet hymns of joy in grateful chorus raise we,
With all our hearts we praise His holy name.
Christ is the Lord! Then ever, ever praise we,
His power and glory ever more proclaim!
His power and glory ever more proclaim!

The song takes us from the stable to the consumation of all. “In his name, all oppression shall cease.” Someday, someday.

I’ve been quite melancholy this week with the news of a lot of illness and death and disease. It seems to be something new every day. The straw that broke the camel’s back and caused me to end in a sobbing fit right in the middle of getting my toddler her morning snack was the news that one of my former students died after complications from cancer. She would have been just about the age I was when I was her teacher. In other words: way, way too young.

My 2-year-old was not sure what to do with her sobbing mother in a bathrobe. But she got really serious when I tried to explain to her why I was crying – through my sobs. Pretty much the only thing I could get out was, “It’s not right. It’s not right.”

I have learned of person after person experiencing heartbreak this season. It seems even more offensive to juxtapose this sadness alongside the merriment of this season. It’s a stark reminder that things just aren’t right.

And it makes me want to sing even louder about Christ breaking the chains of oppression, and I look to him not just as the savior who died so that I can live, but as a savior who will come once again. I look to him with the same anticipation of the advent season…I transfer that cadence to my anticipation of the second coming. And with true longing I say, “Come, Lord Jesus. Make all things new.”

There’s so much hardship and bitterness and sadness that echos around me. I am pulsating with the reverb from injustice and cruelty and heartbreak. I long for a day when this will be over. I long for a savior.

Please, make all things new.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Merry Christmas Dear Readers | thediaperdiaries.net pingbacked on 6 years, 9 months ago

Comments

  1. * Pat McCain says:

    I, too, get chills when I hear or play this hymn for someone who has an angelic voice! The author had a deep understanding of Christ’s purpose…his law is love and his gospel is peace. Thank you for sharing your thoughts

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Kristen says:

    It’s not right, is it? So much is just not right. So thankful this world is not our home. And that is HOPE.
    Merry Christmas, Heather!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Joy says:

    Your insight and compassion is profound. Thank you, Heather.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

