Whole Living Gal



Dinner Party: Part 1 (the prep)

I had tomorrow’s dinner party scheduled long before I had even heard of the book Forking Fantastic, which I mentioned in my last post.

So, after reading the book, I was even more thrilled to put my excitement and newfound ideas toward hosting a dinner party.

This is a party with a purpose: we’re eating a good, healthy meal and talking about taking care of our health and lives as an act of worship to God. And, I’m hosting this dinner for THEATRE students. I love that these Cornerstone University theatre students are conscientious about their bodies and their spirits – so much so that they approached me with this idea for a dinner party.

The party’s tomorrow, so more details about the actual menu and talk to come, but today, I’m prepping.

This is the part of hosting a dinner party that used to totally freak me out. But armed with some new tips and lots of lists, I’m not feeling overwhelmed at all.

The Indonesian chicken is marinating in the fridge as I type – ready to pop in the oven tomorrow. There are four chickens in those foiled containers.

 

And there are piles of fruit and bottles of oil hanging around my counter, ready for prepping tomorrow.

The key for me was learning to space out the prep over a week or so. I planned the menu last week, made some lists and went shopping today, prepped the meat and have a to-do list for tomorrow. I also have lots of help, too – both with the prep and the clean-up.

So, I’m sitting on my couch today, unphased by the fact that an unknown number of students are coming to my house tomorrow (max of 12, but possibly more, who knows) to eat a dinner that I am preparing. This ease of prep is a Thanksgiving miracle. If this continues to be a breeze to host, I may just have a new hobby. Who wants to get on the guest list?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sarah says:

    Um. count me in! 🙂 Steveo and I love to cook too!! We need to cook together some time. And dinner parties are so much fun. Who doesn’t love the sound of the words “dinner party” ? I don’t know of anyone myself.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I’m in 🙂 SO how’d it all turn out?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

