Whole Living Gal



Around the Table

Feeding ourselves good food and learning to feed the people we care about is fundamental to living well. But often, we ignore it. We order take-out and meet our friends at a restaurant and say that we just want to keep it simple.

Don’t I know about “keeping it simple”?! I am a mom with two small children (my oldest just turned two and my youngest is a little, crawling monster of an 8mo), and I do my fair share of easy meals and occasional pizza.

However, there is something beautiful that happens when you bring people around a dining room table in someone’s home and feed them food made from that same kitchen (and a little wine doesn’t help, either).

Home-cooked food sends a message that you care about that person you’re feeding. I try to make dinner almost every night in our home, not just because I love to cook, but because it is one of the ways I tell my husband and my children that I care about them. I care enough to cook good food for them and nourish them in that way. And sometimes, I’ll go the extra mile to light a candle, set the table, and put serving dishes on the table; you can go a long way to make someone feel special just by serving them dinner.

I wrote a post a while back about bringing a meal to someone. I love doing this because I can bring some home-cooked favorites to someone else and they don’t have to think about lifting a finger or leaving their house in order to have a good meal.

I also love bringing people around my own table. And I love doing it now during one of the craziest seasons of my life (I mentioned my children, right?). Sometimes I feel trapped in my home and over twittered and facebooked just because I crave some social interaction. But bringing people into my context is a way to nourish other people and bring some life to the four walls of my home.

Especially with winter closing in it’s cloak of cold, snowy weather, I am already feeling claustrophobic (I mentioned my two small children, right?) just thinking about being stuck here. In order to not feel so trapped, I’m planning some dinner parties. It will give me a chance to get my hands into some savory foods, chop away my frustrations, but also send a little love in the form of a home-cooked meal around my table.

How do you nourish the people you love?

**For more inspiration about feeding people good food (and drinking and cussing a bit along the way, too), read Forking Fantastic. I blazed through this book in one day, and because of it, I’m considering roasting an entire lamb on a spit in my backyard for my husband’s grad-school graduation in May. Beware! It may suck you in and encourage you do something crazy, too!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Dinner Party: Part 1 (the prep) « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 5 months ago

Comments

  1. * Carrie says:

    What is so amazing about your post is that I just met Tamara last night at a fundraiser event. We are trying to start a co-op in Queens and she was the guest speaker! Great book.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Carrie – that’s so cool!! Cool about your co-op and cool that you met Tamara, too. I am really loving that book!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  2. Um, I’m gonna be expecting an invitation…..

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Pat says:

    You are so right…sharing food is rewarding. Remember “Ma” on “Everybody Loves Raymond”—she was known for her amazing Italian dishes. Even though she was a controlling person, the message regarding food was….it was made with love!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Pat says:

    You didn’t mention that FORKING FANTASTIC was co-authored by a woman named Zora………….hmmmmmmm!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  5. * brooke says:

    i have appreciated your persistent attempts to get US around your dinner table. you have no idea how happy i will be when it finally works out!

    also, resonated with the “over twittered and facebooked just because i crave social interaction”

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Luanne says:

    I also can relate to the over twittered and facebooked thing. If you noticed, I’m completely off of twitter. All I had to do was delete the app off my phone đŸ™‚ I haven’t been able to do this with facebook, because I miss you guys so much! It’s how I stay connected to GR, but I have been on it less.

    This post reminded me how important it is to have family dinner. I know David loves it when he comes home to dinner ready. Seems so 1950’s but there is s difference in the evening if I preapre a meal he loves. And why shouldn’t we? They work all day so we can stay home with the kids, right? Sometimes I think the meal is more important than cleaning the house! With not feeling well, I’ve been slacking in the cooking department. But I think I might rethink that. Instead of focusing on all the other jobs, if I only accomplish one thing each day…it should be family dinner. Right?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

