Whole Living Gal



Food Inc.

I finally got around to watching Food Inc, which I checked out of the library (love the library!). I made David sit down and watch it with me last night, and after he got over the fact that it was NOT a Michael Moore movie (which made him want to be combative about it, go figure), we were both sucked in.

I loved this movie. I mean, I loved it. It was a great mix of all the latest, greatest investigative journalists about food (Erich Schlosser, Michael Pollan) and their books as well as some new stories and some downright awesome photography.

I wrote a great post about the true cost of food and how I realize that (because I can), I need to buck up and spend more money on organic, local, sustainable foods. This was a great rant until we went over our finances over the last few months. Whew. It’s eye opening.

I had started to think that I need to supplement some grocery-store meat into our monthly meal plans to help curb some of our food spending.

Well, we got done with the movie, and David says to me, “You can spend as much money on food as you want.”

Hah! Right! I know, that’s exactly what I was thinking! Way to throw that last nail on the coffin for our food choices.

Frankly, I strongly believe that food matters. And if I needed to choose between spending my money on medicine or spending it on good food, I would like to think I would choose the food because I know how much of a difference it makes.

Our food is personal – it becomes our cells and our bodies and even our thoughts. So why do we make hasty, thoughtless choices about the origin of our food? Why do we choose the soda and chips instead of the carrots and the water?

Food Inc answers that question better than I could. So if you haven’t seen the movie, you should watch it, especially if you don’t have the time to read all the books out there like Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma. The movie covers all the major points of those books really well, and also gives some other great information.

So instead of supplementing our diet with CAFO meats, I think I’ll just make more vegetarian meals, thank you very much.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    I have two copies of this movie in our house! I cant believe you just watched it!! But, awesome that you did. My David was grossed out too and has never complained about what I buy since 🙂

    It’s a good movie to watch periodically too…to refresh your memory as to WHY you make the choices you do!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      luanne – i was thinking about purchasing the movie as an occassional refresher, too! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. I came to the same conclusion – I’ll just eat less meat and use the savings to buy the organic local stuff.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  3. * brooke says:

    i just got around to watching that within the last few months, too. you’d think two IIN grads would have pounced on it the moment it was released. oh well, better late than never.
    it’s true that we should all spend more on food that is really food (sustainable to earth and humans both)… and the fact that this is out of reach for a lot of my friends living at or below poverty level makes me furious. i want it to be accessible for everyone. i long for the day.
    meantime, more vegetarian instead of CAFO meat supplementation is a good conclusion!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Pat says:

    so glad you watched it with your hubby. I bought it earlier this year, but no-one in this area wanted to come to movie night at my house after they saw the trailer!!
    Makes me proud to think that you young people in our family are teaching by example!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Sarah says:

    Hey girl! Great post. My hubs and I watched this last year and it definitely sealed the deal for us. I’ve been a vegetarian for about a year (thanks to my mom actually). We spend even more on food than we did before, but we look at it the same way you do- it’s either that or pay for meds or doctor’s appointments later. I’d prefer the organic, local thankyouverrymuch:) I don’t miss meat at all. It’s amazing the delicious, filling meals you can make that don’t include meat! Love it. I’m always up for new recipes if you find any you like and vice versa!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Jolon Hull says:

    Sounds like I need to watch this movie!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      You totally do, Jolon!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

