Whole Living Gal



10 Staples in My Kitchen

While I love seasonal fruits and vegetables, there are a few items that I love keeping in my kitchen almost all the time. Here are 10 must-haves in my kitchen:

1. Oats – we eat oatmeal almost every day for breakfast, I love baked oatmeal, and when I make cookies, I usually put a grain like oatmeal in them.

2. Granola – this is a great quick breakfast or evening snack. I love making granola (smells awesome!), but recently love buying from Molly at the Daily De-lish – best granola I’ve ever eaten. (she ships, delivers, and has products locally in stores around GR)

3. Brown Rice – While other grains (quinoa, barley, millet, amaranth) rotate in and out of my house, I always have brown rice. Sometimes it’s short grain, sometimes long, but it’s always there.

4. Dried Fruit – love to add this to oatmeal and eat it as a snack. My favorite candy is gummy bears, but I haven’t had it in years – I find dried cherries, figs, and other fruits satisfy my chewy, sweet cravings.

5. Frozen fruit – in the summer I fill my freezer with local, organic fruits like blueberries, sweet cherries, strawberries and I keep them in the freezer for smoothies, quick breads or, you guessed it, oatmeal or to cook down for a topping for waffles. I also usually have bananas frozen and ready to blend up for our version of “ice cream” (it’s literally frozen bananas).

6. Chicken Stock – I always keep this homemade on hand, usually in the freezer, or I am in the process of making more or roasting a chicken to make more. Love to use this when I cook brown rice or make soups. Homemade is always better when it comes to chicken stock.

7. Water [filter] – we drink a lot of water around here, and I think good water is important. I have a water filter from Nikken in my kitchen that filters out the bad stuff and adds in minerals and oxygenates the water (yep – this water alone can get out stains!) and magnetizes it. It’s delicious.

8. Real Maple Syrup – I mentioned the oatmeal, right?

9. Carrots – I always have carrots on hand. They’re a great quick snack or I cook them a little for my toddler to eat (she dips them in mustard. Whatever). They’re also easy to make for a quick dinner side or a purreed ginger-carrot soup for dinner or carrot-ginger dressing for salad or brown rice. And they keep for a long time in the fridge, so I always have them around.

10. Olives – you would think we were mediterranean with the amount of olives we consume in our house. I love to put them on top of pasta or homemade pizza, salad or we eat them for snacks alone or with hummus.

Bonus item:

11. Dried Beans – I always have one kind of dried bean lying around. Right now I have red beans and red lentils. I love, love, love red lentils – they’re quick, taste yummy and make great soups or bean burgers.

I feel like I’m just getting started!

I’m linking this post with Oh Amanda’s Top Ten Tuesday.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Heather says:

    You’re a kitchen soul-sister! Except… for the olives. We are not an olive-eating people at Casa Heather. 😉

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I laughed out loud at #9 and the comment about Z eating carrots and mustard…that was hilarious!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

