Whole Living Gal



Food Matters

As our CSA is winding down, and I think about returning to the grocery store to shop for my food, I have two feelings.

First, I’m a little relieved for a break. Yes, I’ll miss the great food, but I’m excited to find a recipe FIRST, then buy the food to make it. It’s a different rhythm of cooking – and I like the change of pace for a while.

But mostly, I’m sad to see the seasons change because going back to grocery-store-bought food is bland. Even when you buy organic from the grocery store, it’s still been shipped from somewhere, usually, and it has lost a lot of flavor and nutrients in the trip. I was eating a local, organic apple today and I thought, “this is why I cannot buy another watery, tasteless out-of-season apple again.”

I am reminded again as I see the ebb and flow of another year of local, organic, nutrient-rich food that food matters. It matters in our health and in our life. It can be the thing that keeps us well or stresses out our systems to the point of being sick. It can be the thing that nourishes us or depletes us (yes, when you eat white sugar, your body has to pull from its own resources to digest it).

Food matters because it can heal or hurt, depending on your choice. I love the CSA because I don’t have a choice. I made the choice sometime in November and then in the summer, I am stuck with all this gorgeous produce; I am forced to eat healthy foods.

And when I eat those nourishing, nutrient-rich foods in the summer, my body is the healthiest. Even though it’s the hottest season of the year, I wear organic, natural deodorant and can sometimes go with none at all because I am putting such good foods into my body that what is coming out of my body is also clean.

Food is the foundation of our health – the cornerstone of keeping us healthy and whole. Food matters.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I agree, I’m looking forward to less produce in the house but I will miss the variety.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    Amen.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Pat says:

    Yes, I, too, will miss the local food..only 3 more Fridays of our Open Air Market. One local organic farm put out an invitation to their 1st Annual Chili Cook-off; I think a Root Vegetable Chili Soup is the thing to take!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Ooh – root vegetable chili soup! sounds great, pat! You’ll have to send me the recipe!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
      • * Pat says:

        will do!

        Posted 6 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

