Whole Living Gal



Personal Springtime

It’s a show-offy season right now – fall. I love this season because it is nature’s big finale before the quiet stark of winter. All the trees are the brightest, fullest colors and the air is just about the perfect temperature. Here in Michigan, though, you can’t help but think what is coming next…the cold winter. Things are starting to shut down around here. Squirrels are scurrying around to gather food, we’re stacking wood for fires and hanging melting wire on our roof, and I’m roasting and freezing then end-of-summer harvest.

But personally, I feel something quite different happening in my life. Instead of working toward quiet, I am, for the first time in years, starting to really come alive. I’ve lifted out of the fog of two consecutive pregnancies and two major abdominal surgeries in less than two years.

I’m starting to come alive in so many ways. My writing is flourishing right now, I’m reading again, my kitchen has food coming out of it that I actually made. My prayer life has a steady rhythm, too, and I once again have something to talk about in the present tense. I’m leaving the house for play dates and trips to the park; and tonight, for the second night in a row, I’m meeting someone for drinks or tea after the girls go to bed. In other words, I’m starting to get a rhythm to my life and also have the freedom to jump into the rhythm of other people’s lives.

While the leaves change to bright orange and sunshine-yellow, I’m allowing myself to be a little show-offy, too. My kitchen floors are dirty, but the words I write are growing, my dates with David are lingering, my October calendar is more full than it has been in years, and I’ve got something that’s making me laugh louder and leaving me with what can only be described as a twinkle in my eye.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * brooke says:

    mmmmm, so nice to hear, heather. i’ll be celebrating your blooming over here, in my heart. and, i’d love to get on the roster for a coffee or tea date with you one day soon.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Pat says:

    if the phrase, ‘You go, girl!’ is OK, I’ll say it now. (and I used to hate hearing that–LOL!)

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Luanne says:

    you got your groove back 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

