Whole Living Gal



BBQ Chicken Pizza, WLG Style

I had some leftover roast chicken last week and wanted to be creative with it – and of course, pizza came to mind! BBQ chicken pizza, that is. I had to work with what I had, and it was great. This is how we do BBQ chicken pizza, Whole Living Gal style!

THE CRUST
My mom gave me this recipe and I’ve been making it since college – it’s great in a pinch and you don’t have to wait for it to rise!

1 pkg dry yeast (1 TBS)
1 tsp sugar
1 c warm water
Approx 2 c flour
1 tsp salt
1 TBS olive oil

Mix – add more flour until dough is not sticky. Knead until smooth, adding more flour as needed (kneaded ;). Stretch into a greased and floured 9×13 pan (this is the easiest – you can also separate it into 2, 12″ pans). No need to allow to rise. Add toppings.

Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Keep an eye on it.

THE TOPPINGS

I made up a BBQ sauce that was delicious, but for the life of me I can’t find the recipe I used as a guide…So here are the ingredients [I think] I used. The key is to use really good ingredients – like I use organic ketchup so there’s no pesky high fructose corn syrup anywhere in sight. I don’t know the proportions, but it goes from greatest to least (in other words, use the most ketchup, then add the next ingredient in a lesser value and so on).

Ketchup
Brown sugar (could use another, natural sweetener, I just went for it, though)
Worcestershire Sauce
White vinegar
Lime juice
Garlic Salt
Dried yellow mustard
Onion flakes (this was only because I didn’t have any onion to put ON the pizza, which I would have preferred)
Salt & Pepper

Mix it up and keep tasting until you like it! I think I had about 1 cup of ketchup left in my bottle, and I went from there – it was plenty for one pizza.

Then I added leftover roast chicken, fresh mozzarella (sliced), and a little bit of organic feta I had in the fridge. It would have been fabulous with a little red onion sliced thin on top, too (oh, and if you have some no-nitrate bacon, I wouldn’t object to that cooked and crumbled, too. Did I just mention bacon? Oopsies).

I served it with a spicy mustard-greens salad with lemon juice and olive oil dressing and shredded carrots.

Sometimes, a girl’s just gotta have a little pizza.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Pat says:

    Yummm! yesterday I decided to give up sugar for 30 days. Got another suggestion for the dough, like agave?, then how much?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I need to give you my recipe for thai chicken pizza! SOOOO good! THANK YOU for the pizza dough recipe! I’ve been wanting one that didn’t require rising 🙂 You are awesome 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Yes! I want that thai chicken recipe!!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Holli Torrie says:

    Hey!

    I stumbled across your pizza dough recipe via FB the other day, have used it twice, AND am a convert from my old recipe! This is the nicest dough I’ve ever worked with. So soft and elastic…very easy to assemble and roll out. I actually have let it rise, but it’s nice to know that if I don’t have the time to…I don’t have to. Thanks for sharing. love and miss you…only two months away from May and hopefully seeing you! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago
    • Yeah! So glad you like it!! I usually end up letting it rise a bit in the fridge, too. Can’t wait to see you in a few months!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

