Whole Living Gal



Embracing the Clutter

I am an overall clean person. At any given time, most of my house is generally clean, but there are always piles of stuff. I have the best intention to create systems for my clutter, but most of the time, the stuff is in process of being filed or applied to those systems. I’m not saying that my house is a wreck, but it definitely has stuff out and about.

Even with my high tolerance for clutter, my house is driving me nuts. And the funny thing is, I am constantly putting things away. If I cleaned at this pace when it was just me and David living in the house, it would have been spotless.

As it is, I am barely keeping my head above water. With two babies under two, I am finding that it is nearly impossible not to have clutter.

So I am trying a new approach and trying to embrace it and tackle it one day at a time. I am realizing that at this stage in my life, the clutter is inevitable.

I’m not saying I’m going to pull on a pair of sweats and a cut-off shirt and just let things go, but I am going to allow myself permission to not feel guilty about it. Or avoid having people over just because I have toys in various places around the house. I still apologize, but it is absent of guilt.

When I have time and energy to clean, I try to approach my house in terms of one or two tasks, rather than try to clean the whole thing. Yesterday, I vacuumed because both of the girls were awake at the same time. Then, the babe went down for a nap, so I put away clean laundry with my toddler. At the end, I had a bedroom, hallway and a flight of stairs that were clutter-free. So I made a point to visit that area of the house often yesterday.

I am also trying to embrace the rest of summer and the gorgeous days of fall, which means getting out of the house with my girls. And when I get out of the house, it means I am not cleaning the house – sometimes it’s one or the other.

Each stretch of life is a season, with new challenges and different obstacles. But I am starting to recognize this as a season, and the challenges as seasons. My girls won’t be young and snuggly forever, but my house will always have incoming mail and carpets to be vacuumed and floors to be mopped. Right now, I’m choosing my girls…and starting early to teach them how to clean up!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * brooke says:

    and what a remarkable job you do of balancing all of these things. when push comes to shove, you choose the better thing. and it will not be taken from you.

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago
  2. * Ron says:

    I own a cleaning service and I see it everyday first hand -cleaning isn’t fun!! If you need a few quick cleaning tips or suggestions, I can send you a free book we published a while back. I know it’s sounds too good to be true, but free is free in this case. Shoot me an email & I’ll send it you…

    Nashville Cleaning Services

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago


Leave a Reply

