Whole Living Gal



Take Them a Meal

I used to be paralyzed when thinking about bringing someone a meal.

What do I make?

What do they like?

How do I transport it?

How much do I make?

When do I take it over?

With all these questions, I just decided that I would not bring a meal to anyone, ever. I told my friends it wasn’t “my thing” and that I would be glad to help in other ways, I just wouldn’t be showing up with any food.

But then I had a baby, and people brought us food for 6 weeks (6 weeks!). Then I got pregnant almost immediately and had a difficult pregnancy, followed by a c-section. Friends showed up with meals over the last year of my life, and it was the biggest blessing to me…they were speaking my love language, for sure.

You know what I realized? When I needed a meal, I didn’t care what it was, how much is there, how to heat it up, or how it was transported, or when it showed up. I was just so grateful for the gesture, and mostly, for the food.

So I resolved that as soon as I was on my feet again, I would start bringing food to people – pay it forward, so to speak.

In the last few weeks, David has committed us to bringing meals to people, so I have been forced to get busy in the kitchen. And I love it. I love making a meal for someone else, knowing they don’t have to cook that day. I also love adding secret ingredients like fresh, local produce and hormone-free meat; good, clean food is healing, too.

I’m making a meal for a neighbor right now – a chicken and vegetable stir fry with brown rice.

My only rule for cooking a meal for someone else? Make double so I have enough for our family, too. We’re eating stir fry tonight!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. In the Kitchen: Chicken Soup (for Two Households) « Whole Living Gal pingbacked on 6 years, 8 months ago

Comments

  1. * susan says:

    I loved this post! I have only started being a real “meal” giver in the past few years. It seems that often times you don’t know what to do for someone – either when a good thing happens or a bad thing, but food is always good and these days is not so often thought of. When a friend lets me know about a situation in their life that may be difficult – I don’t ask about bringing a meal, I just tell them I am bringing it over on “such and such” day and for them to not worry about dinner. I always enclose a card and often times get some inexpensive flowers to add to it.

    To make this easier on me and to ready at a moments notice, when I make some of my family’s favorite casseroles I was double it and make one in a disposable pan and freeze it. Then I am ready. I write on the top on Sharpie the name and also the temp to cook and how long. I heard another idea that I thought was great too, someone gets pans from garage sales and then it doesn’t matter if they ever get the pan back. That was a good one too.

    Glad to see you are sharing your talents with others, I know they will love your meals!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
    • * Lisa says:

      Hi there! I think it’s so awesome that you’re paying it forward by bringing others meals. And great idea to make a double batch when you make them!

      I wanted to share with you something that could make this super easy to bring meals to your friends and family when they’re sick, just had a baby, lost a loved one, recovering from surgery, etc. It’s called foodtidings (www.foodtidings.com) and it’s awesome! It’s a free online tool that helps you coordinate the delivery of meals to others. You simply put in the dates you want the meals brought, the persons info, foods they like/dislike, allergies, etc, and then invite their friends and family to bring the meals! They just sign up for the date they want to bring it, they receive a reminder email a few days before, and there you have it!

      My husband and I just had our fourth baby, and our friends and family are bringing us meals this month, and it’s AMAZING. Thinking about making dinners right now is the last thing on my mind, and I’m so thankful! I hope this is helpful to you! Thanks,
      Lisa

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
      • * heatherehammond says:

        Hi Lisa,

        Thanks for the comment! I’ve never heard of that web site. I’ve used takethemameal.com before, and I really like that one – looks like it does the same types of things as foodtidings. Congrats on your fourth baby!

        Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
  2. i love this. you are perfect for this sort of loving on people. šŸ™‚

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

