Whole Living Gal



Chicken Cacciatore

It has been four months and three weeks since my last post. (That sounds a lot like the beginning of Catholic confession…).

But that time is almost the exact age of my newest daughter. If you could see her grin and giggle, you would get why I have not wanted to bury my face on the computer. She’s a doll.

I thought I’d bring back the blog with a recipe. My kitchen is bumpin’ these days – I am loving being back in the rhythm of cooking again…and cooking with whole foods.

Right now, my crock pot is full and simmering with this chicken cacciatore recipe – and it smells so good, I was overcome to post the recipe. I’m planning to serve it with pasta and polenta – options! – as well as a green salad with a quick vinaigrette…and of course the rest of the opened bottle of white wine from the recipe

I was unpacking and taking stock of the food from my CSA pick up last night and realized that I was halfway to prepping this dish. So I went to town chopping and combining this recipe in the crock pot. I stuck the whole thing in the fridge last night and when I got up this morning, I just took it out and plugged it in. I probably won’t make a habit of making dinner the night before, but I was so darn excited about this recipe….and about chopping fresh picked-that-day tomatoes that are bigger than my youngest daughter’s head (okay, not quite).

This recipe is from “Simply in Season” – my all-time favorite cookbook right now. See below recipe for my notes.

Chicken Cacciatore

3-lb whole chicken (skinned, cut in pieces)**
4 c tomatoes, chopped **
1 green, yellow, orange, or red sweet pepper (cut in strips)**
2 onions, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 bay leaf
1 tsp salt
1 Tbs fresh oregano (chopped, or 1 tsp dried)
1 Tbs fresh basil (chopped, or 1 tsp dried)**
1/4 tsp pepper
1/4 c white wine (optional)
1 c mushrooms, chopped (optional)
combine in a slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours.

** chicken – I would not recommend using a whole, bone-in chicken unless you like picking out bones. I’m doing some boneless, skinless breasts today.

tomatoes – I used fresh this time because I had them local, organic. But I’ve used a jar of spaghetti sauce in the past, and it worked great too

peppers – I use more than one. Have also used roasted reds when I don’t have fresh on hand

basil – I use more than this because I love it!

Enjoy!

***As a side note, both times in this post I spelled “white wine” like “whine”…clearly I have entered the full-on toddler phase with my 21mo.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Thanks for this – I have it in my Crockpot now. It sounds like a good use for the overabundance of tomatoes I have right now! Also, good to see you blogging again. So glad you have been enjoying your girls!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Yeah! So glad you’re trying it. making it with fresh tomatoes made it taste so, well, fresh! Enjoy 🙂 (and thanks for the encouragement – I was wondering if anyone would read my blog now that I’ve been absent for so long!)

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I still read it 🙂 I’ve been faithfully checking back! Now it’s time to restart mine. Funny how our two very different transitions have us setting aside and appreciating a lot of the same things! I’m going to try this recipe. How long did you cook it in the crockpot for, high, low?? The kids start school on Monday so I will have lots of time for writing again!!

    oh yea….I MISS YOU!!!!!!!!! Did I yell that loud enough??

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      I miss you too!! I was thinking about you a lot the last few days…

      I can’t remember how long i let this cook – I think I put it on low for 8 hours. Enjoy!

      Can you believe your kids will be back in school already!!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

