Whole Living Gal



Blessed to Be a Blessing (Bible in 90 Days Reflections)

I’ve been mulling over the idea that spirituality can turn selfish pretty quickly. In search of our center and our place with God, we can easily black out the rest of the world around us.

Maybe this thinking started because I have a hard time not feeling guilty for all the times I have needed to ask for help during this pregnancy – from my husband, my family, my friends, and even from God. I know I am learning a lesson about control…and community…and letting go…(and probably also something about not getting my way all the time).

But in our spirituality and our search for God in our lives – and for making more space for him – I think there is a fine line of care we need to take. We walk a line between the committment to making our lives a living sacrifice and making our lives and our spirituality all about ourselves.

Even when we mean well, we can end up holed up picking apart pieces of our heart and lives all by ourselves. Though solitude, prayer, reflection, confession, and contemplation are all important parts of growing in our faith, this week I am thinking beyond these things. I am thinking outwardly.

As I read through the gospels at lightening speed this week, what stands out to me is that Jesus is constantly showing and saying “go.” Over and over he is telling his disciples to go and share the good news that the kingdom is at hand. He fills them up with the gospel of truth so they can share it with others.

We are filled up in the same way – through some of the internal, personal disciplines mentioned above – so that we can go and share. We are not meant to sit alone, holed up working out our faith behind closed doors and calling it good. We are meant to fill up so that we can fill others.

I firmly believe in the community of believers and the work we can do together to build the kingdom and build each other up. But we have to take that step out of our prayer closet and share – share the light we were given through Christ, share the joy we have in being his new creation, share the love we have been given through the forgiveness of sins.

Mary DeMuth posted a verse this week on twitter that really drives this idea home. I love how The Message brings a new light to this truth:

“By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.” Matt 5:16b MSG

::

**I am reading through the Bible in 90 days with other bloggers. Check in with Mom’s Toolbox to read more about what others are learning and to check in if you’re reading along.**

Leave a Reply

