Whole Living Gal



Home Detox: Part 2 (THE Book)

About a year ago (or was it 2 now? Wow, time flies), a friend of mine told me about this book: Clean: The Humble Art of Zen-Cleansing. Basically, the book is full of recipes and ideas of how to clean your house using only 5 natural ingredients:

1. Baking Soda
2. Salt
3. Lemon Juice
4. Vinegar
5. Borax

I had always heard that people used these things to clean their homes, but I needed instructions. Whenever I would ask someone what I could use baking soda for, the person would usually reply “Everything!” Not helpful. I need amounts and specific directions.

Enter Clean. It’s like basic clean cleaning for dummies. And I love it.

I used the book on and off for a few things throughout the last year or so. But I think what really sparked this detox was when I used a formula to successfully clean out a drain (I think it was baking soda and warm water – amazing!).

I have to admit that I haven’t bought any borax yet. But I am quickly falling in love with the many uses of white vinegar and baking soda. (My coffee has never tasted so fresh as after I ran vinegar through the pot!) I’m falling even more in love with the price tag of my cleaning products now, too! This stuff is cheap, cheap, cheap.

This book has been great for me – as a guide. I bought it on amazon.com (follow my link above). It’s small enough to keep out and around and sturdy enough to pull out with wet hands while you’re cleaning.

I’m slowly incorporating the ideas in this book, and it’s fun to experiment with these 5 ingredients.

One other thing I love about this approach is that I feel great about involving my 16mo daughter in the cleaning process. She loves to do whatever I am doing, especially when it comes to cleaning. So today I was scrubbing the carpet with baking soda and vinegar and she wanted to scrub when I was done. I would NEVER let her have her hand at scrubbing the carpet if I was using Resolve cleaner, but I let her go to town – even taking the vinegar spray bottle to pretend to spray. (I think she also put her mouth on that bottle because when I came around the corner at one point, she had a sour look on her face. And instead of speed-dialing poison control, I got to have a good laugh.)

If you need a guide to start cleaning green, but need a guide, this is the book for you.

**This post is also part of the Things I Love Thursday carnival over at The Diaper Diaries. Click over and check out other posts and see what other bloggers and loving these days.**

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. This is great! Natural cleaners is going to be one of my tips for my 31 days to a Somewhat Crunchy You series. I’ll try to remember to link to you.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Thanks, Cheryl! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    Ooooh! I am getting this book!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Kara says:

    I found you through the “Confident Mom” blog, and am so glad you posted a guest blog there.

    After reading this article, I immediately went to Amazon.com and bought “Clean”. I read it in a couple sessions of watching my children play outside, and the next day bought the supplies needed to make up my new cleaning products. I too had been wanting to do this for my kids, but had been unsure of how to proceed.

    Thank you so much for the book recommendation.
    Kara
    from New Mexico

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Hi Kara,

      I hope the book helps you – it’s been a great guide for me!

      Cheers, Heather

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

