Whole Living Gal



Cake for Dinner

When the snow keeps falling in February, sometimes you just have to do something drastic … like cake for dinner.

Well, it was coffee cake – and it had lots of blueberries in it.

The other night I just needed something warming, and coffee cake and eggs sounded good enough for me. I found this recipe on my Whole Foods app and have been dying to try it. The only problem I have with coffee cake is that it really is a breakfast food, but who wants to get up early enough to actually make it for breakfast? So, breakfast for dinner it is!

Here’s the recipe, see my amendments below:

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Serves 12

This coffee cake relies on a healthy portion of blueberries for sweetness, almonds for richness and yogurt for moistness.

Ingredients

Nonstick cooking spray
2 tablespoons plus 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour, divided
1/4 cup light brown sugar
2 tablespoons butter, cut into small pieces
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup nonfat plain yogurt or bluberry yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups fresh or frozen, thawed and drained blueberries, divided
1/3 cup sliced almonds

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9-inch round cake pan with cooking spray; set aside. Put 2 tablespoons of the whole wheat pastry flour, sugar, butter, cinnamon and cardamom in a medium bowl and mix together with a fork or your fingers until well combined and mixture is in large clumps; set streusel aside.

Put remaining 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour, all-purpose flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl and stir to combine; set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk together yogurt, vanilla and eggs then pour into bowl with dry ingredients and stir until combined. Gently fold in 1 cup of the blueberries.

Spoon batter into prepared pan and sprinkle reserved streusel over the top. Scatter remaining 1 cup blueberries over the streusel then top with almonds and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center cake comes out clean, 30 to 40 minutes. Once cooled, loosen edges of cake and transfer to a plate. Cut into slices and serve.

::
Amemdments:
– I omitted the almonds. Although I think they would be delicious, I knew my 15mo would be devouring this, so I left them off. I’m still afraid of choking hazards; she’s going to be 10 years old and I’ll still be cutting her food up nice and small.
– I liked the cardamom flavor alright. Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE cardamom and am always looking for ways to incorporate it. But there was something about blueberries and cardamom that just didn’t sit right with me. Maybe I needed the almonds to balance it out. Anyway, if I make it again I will probably use nutmeg instead of cardamom.
– This recipe does NOT serve 12, unless those 12 are ants. We ate half of it in one sitting, the three of us.
So there you go. Cake for dinner.
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Hey, if it has blueberries, it’s gotta be healthy 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    yummm! I’ve seen this recipe too.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

