Whole Living Gal



Things I Love Thursday: Chicken Nuggets (*GASP!*)

Okay, never say never, people. I mean it. Never. Say. Never.

In an attempt to find foods that my toddler can pick up on her own – and still get fat into her diet (that girl would eat bread all the live-long day), I have resorted to chicken nuggets.

Yes, I just wrote that.

Thankfully, there are healthier choices out there. And Costco comes through for me these days. Thanks to other moms I know who are trying to be health conscious for their kids, I found out about Yummy brand chicken nuggets. I read the ingredient list, and it’s not only passable, but it also has flax in it (granted, it’s the last ingredient, but it’s THERE!).

Now, I don’t have a super picky eater every day. Sometimes she eats whatever I give her (picture swiss chard today – I was in heaven). But I’m very pregnant and looking for quick options for her when I just don’t feel like cooking. And I feel good about these.

Plus, I love them. Okay, I’ve only fixed them once, but honestly, I think I was “fixing them for her” but really just wanted them for myself.

Isn’t that part of the joy of parenting – the cycle of foods? You get to eat grilled cheese and pb & j and chicken nuggets all over again?

I never, ever thought I would have chicken nuggets on hand. But I underestimated good brands of these kinds of foods – and I greatly underestimated my own ability to cut corners and need fast, easy meals – both right now, but especially when the little baby arrives in 3 weeks.

Chicken nuggets it is! It’s all about balance, people, and sometimes I am just trying to balance my sanity.

For more ideas and links to great things other bloggers love, visit Diaper Diaries – plus, she’s great, too.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bigbinder says:

    We get sweet & sour chicken from our neighborhood Chinese restaurant. It’s basically chicken nuggets – they even give you the sauce separately so you can dip it. This way, rather than feeling failure-ish, we feel like we are being multi-cultural. It’s a win-win.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      “Multi-cultural” – I love it!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Lynnet says:

    My teens ask me to buy the Tyson Chicken nuggets. Sometimes when we’re running in a dozen different directions, they love to just heat them up and head out the door. Save’s money from going through the drive-thru all the time!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Courtney says:

    I have totally made lunch for my boys while secretly making it for myself. “You guys gonna any more of the puff pastry hot dogs? No?”

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      too funny! I love it!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
  4. * Luanne says:

    Gotta love Costco! I eat ’em too when I don’t feel like cooking and David is out of town 🙂 Glad you approve AND like them!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Luanne, they’re awesome! Thank you for the suggestion!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
  5. The hubby makes homemade chicken nuggets. Which defeats the point because they aren’t easy, but they are so yummy!! I am wondering if we could make them up and freeze them for ease. Hmmm…. I just now thought of that!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

