Whole Living Gal



For Better or Worse

I don’t want this blog to turn into one where I blab on and on about my pregnancy or my children, but with only 3-and-a-half weeks to go until I deliver my second baby girl, this topic is bound to sneak in a few times.

I would say this pregnancy has been all things better and worse. After trying for a while to get pregnant the first time, we were thrilled by this second, surprise-ish pregnancy. It is no joke getting pregnant, and I have plenty of friends with broken hearts and dark journeys, so I don’t take the blessing of this pregnancy lightly.

At the same time, it has been such a hard pregnancy. From migraines, to migraine syndrome, to all kinds of icki-ness that I don’t want to get into, I have been left to make decisions and ask for help.

I cut things out of my life to leave room for rest and downtime whenever I need it – which is often – and my family has really had to step it up. First, I am so thankful to my mom who lives close and will drop her plans at a moment’s notice to help take care of my 15mo or me…or both.

But my husband. Oh my husband. When we met and married, I was a swingin’ single gal. I taught high school English, lived on my own in a cute apartment with a hot-pink painted living room, and I was quite independent. Little did he know that I would need so much attention and care for so long. It’s one thing when one of you gets sick and needs a little more care for a week or so. But I have been quite needy and sometimes helpless since August.

You just don’t know what you are stepping into when you marry someone. For better or worse, in sickness and in health, in good times and bad. Truly we are being tested for the not-so-great times these days in our marriage, even though everything is tainted with the goodness of a new baby. And my husband has been a shining example of a servant in all ways these last few months. Trials bring out the true essence of character  – and I love what I’ve seen in the man I married.

All this has led me to just think on our marriage a lot these days. I have nothing profound to say except that I am thankful for a devoted and loving husband (and glad God didn’t let me marry any of the losers that I doted over in high school and college!).

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. What a beautiful post. Congratulations!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

