Whole Living Gal



Dinner Tonight

I think I am finally bouncing back from whatever yuckiness I had over the weekend. I am back to full-force 3rd trimester exhaustion, discomfort and insomnia. But, I’m also back to cooking (a little) – just not cleaning up. It’s hard to wash dishes when you have to face sideways at the sink. I’m just sayin’.

My mom brought over some black-eyed peas that she cooked, so I was planning to make a delicious soup tonight with ham and collard greens and the beans with cornbread. Actually, I was planning to make the soup last night, but then I remembered it was Fat Tuesday, so I had to make pancakes. Then I was planning to make it tonight, but then I caught wind of this recipe on twitter, and immediately packed up the 15mo to make a trek to the store so I could make this tonight for dinner.

I am usually not a fan of casseroles; and I run far away from anything with cream of anything. But this casserole has no cream of anything in it – just a little bit of dairy, which I’m okay with in the winter. I’ve been trying to avoid canned tomatoes because of the BPA levels, but a little Rotell … well, I’m pregnant, for heaven’s sake.

Casserole it is tonight. I’ll serve it with something green – probably a salad. I bought a huge, gorgeous head of organic green-leaf lettuce yesterday at the health food store. I think the casserole calls for something crunchy to go along with it.

What are YOU making for dinner tonight?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * anne says:

    Leftover soup for us…I made a big pot of potato-sausage soup last week. Lots of dairy in that one! But I also added a good bunch of kale for good measure. Mmm.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      ooh – that sounds delicious! I’m thinking about adding some chopped spinach to this recipe just for good measure.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

