Whole Living Gal



Bible in 90 Days Check-In

Monday is the official day for check-ins for the Bible in 90 Days readings. Mom’s Toolbox is doing a great job keeping up with everyone’s posts and encouraging all of us who are reading. If you get a chance, pop over to her blog and check in yourself – if you’re reading – or read other readers’ posts, which are linked to her blog.

I don’t have much to say this week except that this challenge is taking discipline. The newness and freshness of the experience has worn off, and frankly, I’m tired of making this amount of reading a priority every.single.day. Last week I slacked off a few days – mostly because I was busy, but also because I just wanted to. I got caught up again on the weekend, though, and am back on track.

I’m a little ahead of the other readers – I am finishing Psalms today and working my way into Proverbs. This means that I am halfway through the reading. Wow. Halfway through reading the Bible! Holy cats.

The second half will definitely take good, ol’ discipline to get through. But even though scheduling this reading into each day is starting to be a chore, I am still noticing the Spirit’s work in my heart and my life in small and big ways. I’ve written earlier about a heart of worship, and I feel my life is more in a posture to worship God because my mind is on him – whether it’s recalling  a passage or character (I’m STILL thinking about Ezra…his heart of lament and passion still come to my mind from time to time) or just thinking through my day about how I will schedule time to do my reading – I am thinking about spiritual things. And I think in doing this, I am opening my heart up to the Spirit over and over and over – an open door for God to move.

My ultimate goal in keeping up with the reading is of course the birth of my daughter on March 22 (which is why I’m reading about a week ahead of most of the others). Reorienting my posture toward God is primary in my preparation to receiving this second baby into my home…and so I keep reading…even on the days when it’s hard, even on the days when I don’t feel like it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * anne says:

    My goal is the end of March. I think with the two ‘freebie’ days and a little extra push at the end, I should be able to make it. My schedule is just starting Psalms today. I am frankly amazed that I’ve been able to keep it up thus far!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Anne – I’m so glad you’re reading, too! You’re right on track with the other bloggers right now – you should join our tweet-up tonight at 9pm (#b90days) – I’ll be on if I can manage to stay awake 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    I’m impressed by both you girls! I think if I tried to read the bible in 90 days I would totally miss everything…better for me to study little by little right now. But reading cover to cover sometime is a goal of mine!

    I love your motivation behind this too Heather. It’s inspiring 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

