Whole Living Gal



Everlasting God

Just when I thought nothing could be more tedious than reading Leviticus, I get to the first 10 chapters of Chronicles and boy, oh, boy – list, after, list, after family name after birth order.

And just when I wonder “What does this have to do with me?” the sermon at church this weekend was about a name of God: Everlasting God.

A theme I am noticing in the Old Testament that David (my husband) and I discussed one evening over dinner at Noodles is about the seemingly paradoxical idea that God seems to care deeply for humanity as a whole, but oftentimes, he doesn’t pay as much attention to individuals.

This is a huge blow to anyone who has an ego. Okay, it’s a huge blow to any of us who seem to think we are so important. But part of walking the path of Christ is learning how unimportant we really are. After all, isn’t that what Christ modeled? A path of decent, not ascent?

And what I am learning as I read the OT is that I am part of a larger story – a rich heritage – a bigger picture. I am part of this story of an everlasting God: one who transcends generations to show blessings to the people that he loves. Abraham didn’t see the great nation of Israel, Moses didn’t live in the promised land, David didn’t build the temple. But these men were vessels for blessings that extended to the next generations.

My husband and I are part of a nuclear family with a rich heritage of believers. Both of our fathers and grandfathers were/are pastors. We have a long line of faith on both sides and are entrusted to pass this on to our daughters through the faith we live out in our own generation.

This is a sobering thought to me as I prepare to give birth to my second child. I find that the most appropriate preparation for the birth is reading through the Bible – and I am learning about heritage and blessings and generations and I am reminded that I am subscribing to a faith that believes in the idea of a God who is everlasting…so my story is one of a thread in a line of a greater story. I have a responsibility to become less, and make way for God to become more through my life.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * anne says:

    I have had some of the same thoughts. Especially with all the wiping out of other nations…were not some of those people good people? But the point isn’t each individual and rather the nation as a whole.

    Sure am glad we aren’t judged by our nation any longer.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Susan says:

    What a wonderful post! I too have been wondering as I am reading through the OT…..ARG – what does this have to do with me NOW??? And I love how you brought this back and connected me to the much larger picture. You comment of allowing to make way for God to become more through my life was perfect timing for me. I have rather given over my life, knowing that I will be used how HE sees fit, not how I see fit. It is not about me, but so much about a bigger picture. Thanks for your thoughts – it touched me in a wonderful way today!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Blessings, sister! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

