Whole Living Gal



Things I Love Thursday: Tom’s of Maine Toothpaste

When my friends and clients start making big changes in their health, they are often curious to look into health and beauty and household items once they feel balanced in other areas. I am often asked about which products I love and work for me that are more natural. I have to be totally honest – I do have some harsh chemicals [stored out of reach of children, of course] in my house for those deep-cleaning needs, and not all the products I use on myself are full of natural oils (every girl’s got to have at least one bottle of sugary-sweet smelling lotion, right?). But, there are a few products that I DO love.

So I’m linking up with Diaper Diaries‘ weekly carnival this week to begin sharing products that I love. I should mention that companies have not given me anything to push their items on my blog (unless I specifically say that), so these really are things I’m pulling out of my cupboards to share.

::

One of the first product switches I made was with my toothpaste. To be honest, regular toothpaste is too sugary for me and I hate the after-brushing taste that it leaves. I tried Tom’s of Maine toothpaste one day in college and I’ve been hooked ever since. It makes my mouth feel, well, clean, which is the point of brushing, I think.

And the best part? It has all natural ingredients. This to me is so great – I think brushing artificial flavors and colors and lots of sugar onto your teeth seems counter-productive. I feel good about using this product on my teeth – because, let’s face it, I don’t get to the dentist nearly as much as I should.

Let’s get real, though. I know everyone is trying to save money these days, and when you pull up to the toothpaste aisle and see the price of this product (especially compared to other toothpastes), you may shed a small tear. It’s expensive.

Like I said, not all the products I use in my house are natural – I pick and choose what I feel like I want to spend the extra money on. Toothpaste is one area that I think is worth the extra dime. But there are some cheaper ways to acquire this product.

I’ve found that Target always has the best prices. And occasionally, drug stores will run a sale, which is when I try to stock up.

What natural toothpastes do you use that you absolutely love? Leave a comment and tell me about it, or link up to Diaper Diaries’ carnival on your blog and play along!

Speaking of brushing my teeth…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Susan says:

    I am also a BIG Tom’s fan, that is all I use anymore. I usually stock up at drugstore.com, it is easier than running around looking for specials. I can’t stand regular toothpaste either. My morning starts off right when I get that familiar taste in my mouth…….AHHHHHH, it is good! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Thanks for the tip about drugstore.com! I know what you mean about the ‘ahhh” sensation from the toothpaste 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  2. * anne says:

    You know, I have to be honest, Tom’s kind of disappointed me. See, I have a weird mouth situation. If I use any toothpaste with “whitening” in it, I am very prone to canker sores. In fact, since I switched off of any pastes with that in it, I haven’t had any.
    Until I picked up a tube of Tom’s for my kiddo. I got her the kids’ version of their paste and figured I would give it a try as well. Literally, the next day I had TWO sores in my mouth.
    I was very bummed. But I guess it is just as likely for me to have what seems to be my own type of allergic reaction to something natural as to something artificial, right?
    Sorry Tom. The rest of my family can use your paste, but it’s out for me. Sigh.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Oh, bummer! Have you tried any other natural toothpastes? Though I probably wouldn’t want to try a bunch of stuff if I was getting sores in my mouth. 🙂 There are other ways to use natural products – so not worth the sores!!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  3. The bummer is once you are used to the sugary crap this stuff tastes weird 🙂 but I haven’t tried it for a long time so maybe I should try again.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      It’s all what you’re used to, I guess. Because now I can’t stand the sugary crap! 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  4. I’ve used other Tom products, but I’ve never tried the toothpaste … might have to now. Thanks for the info!! (Visiting from TILT)

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Thanks for visiting, Mandi! I’ve been trying to make my rounds on the TILT, too – still have a few more blogs to visit. I like other Tom’s products, too, but I always come back to the toothpaste, it’s my favorite 🙂

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  5. * LaVonne says:

    Well, we like Tom’s too. I also buy Jasons for my daughter. Thanks for the post. Just visiting from TILT meme. Blessings!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Thanks for visiting, LaVonne – I’m trying to make my TILT rounds, too. 🙂 Have a great day!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Jen says:

    My kids use Tom’s, but we have a huge backstock of crest, aquafresh, etc. that my hubby and I are using up. I think we will switch eventually too.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  7. * Jen says:

    Here is a great website to check out the various skin products you may be using. I recently found out that some of my favorite “all natural” and even “organic” products were not all that they seemed. Huge bummer!

    http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com/

    avalon organics and kiss my face were two of my favs, but there is a lawsuit against them now because they are not actually organic.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
  8. * ellen says:

    TOm’s toothpaste does rock! I love the after taste. However, do not loose the cap because when it rests on your counter, you will come back and find it likes to slowly seap out of the tube. Also, do you find it is hard to get it all out of the tube?? It is only $2.99 a tube at Trader Joe’s if that is an option for you. DO any of you use any other natural/organic products??? If so, please go to my page at http://naturegame.wordpress.com and share with me! Thanks!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      Ellen – I WISH we had a Trader Joe’s near where I live. I stocked up on Tom’s of Maine the last time I was in a city w/ TJs, though! 🙂

      -Heather

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

