Whole Living Gal



Uphill Pregnancy: Putting on My Hiking Boots

I don’t want to complain. After all, I am pregnant. And that is nothing short of a miracle. Not only that – but I’m pregnant for the second time – for which I am even more grateful.

But… (there’s always a “but” isn’t there?)

This pregnancy has been a bit of an uphill battle for me – one thing after another. My first pregnancy was such a breeze that I feel like I am just getting slapped around for this one.

First trimester was way worse this time around. Then about the time that subsided, I moved into my crazy migraine stage and had to rearrange my lifestyle. Now those seem to be at least manageable, and last week I failed my glucose screening test and have to go back for another one. This is not joke because I actually do have diabetes that runs in my family.

When I got the letter in the mail yesterday informing me about my need to come in for another test (which will last three hours and I have to fast for 12 before that – I’m not sure how that will be possible since I am now up at night eating), I felt beyond discouraged.

But, I’m tired of wallowing in self pity about every little physical thing, so I am bucking up. I scheduled the test for Friday and am now on some absurd diet that includes all the bagels and cake and donuts I can eat (no complaints here!). I’ll get through this screening and no matter what the results are, I am determined to face them with a positive attitude. Because all in all, I know things could be a lot worse.

So, I’m off to eat more pastries and drink some sweetened OJ (yes, that’s on the diet plan, too). My New Year’s resolution is to take this year in stride – no better time than now to put that into practice. I may be fighting an uphill battle at every turn with this pregnancy, but I’m ready to put on my hiking boots and get climbing.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. That sound ridiculoulsy similar to my last pregnancy. Believe it or not I have already mostly forgotten how awful it was. Holding your baby will do that. Also I had to do the second glucose test and passed with flying colors . So sending prayers your way!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Luanne says:

    They gave you a diet to follow for the test? I so don’t remember that? And it totally does not make sense to me that they would have you eat something that they know isn’t good for you one way or the other, and I am assuming is not a regular part of your diet anyways! Very strange….anyways…how’d it go??

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

