Whole Living Gal



When does your Diet Expire?

I am loving reading the blogs and tweets of women who are getting serious about their health in 2010. I am seeing lots of exercise plans and diets and spiritual commitments (like reading the Bible in 90 days that I posted about here & stay-tuned for a giveaway I’m working on for next week!).

I love to read about new health resolutions because I think any time you take the time to focus on the food going in your mouth, the way you move your body, or the creation of your daily schedule, this is a good thing.

In fact, I would go so far as to say that all diets are good. Yes, even the weird and crazy diets that I wouldn’t touch with a 10-foot pole are really, ultimately good. Because, in the end, you are taking the time to focus on what you put in your mouth. So often, we eat mindlessly, and the beauty of a diet is that we have to stop … and think before we eat.

But, all diets have an expiration date. They’re good for a while, and then they turn sour. Most diets are not sustainable for long-term, real-life living.

This is why its important to develop a lifestyle that supports all-around health, not just a fad diet.

What I love to focus on instead of dieting is adding good things into my life and my food. I think, “What good choices can I make today to add to whatever I am already doing?”

Can I drink an extra glass of water?
Add a salad to my meal?
Eat a piece of fruit for my afternoon sugar-time snack?
Take the stairs?

In this way, I build in sustainable changes into my life. And you know what? These good changes crowd out the bad ones. Before long, I am drinking more water and eating vegetables without thinking about it. I’ve made real change in my life.

So, keep up the resolutions for 2010 – it’s good to set goals and work together to get back on the path of health. Sometimes we even need those extreme fad diets to shake things up a bit. But once you’re on the healthy wagon, so to speak, when does your diet expire? And when it does, what long-term changes have you made that are sustainable?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Twitted by wholelivinggal pingbacked on 7 years, 8 months ago

Comments

  1. * Luanne says:

    Fabulous article!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. We are making some changes to diet this year, but I like slowly but surely. Too many changes at once result in failure. My first focus is more fruits and veggies. The overall goal for the year is more foods with less ingredients in them. We’ll see how it goes.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
    • * heatherehammond says:

      I read that on your blog. I love the less ingredients approach! It seems like you are making changes that are sustainable – way to go!

      Did you get my e-mail about coupon help? That is one of my goals…to help with our finances in that way and I’d love some help!

      Happy new year!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Kellen says:

    Wait! that was meant for something else!! Where’s the delete button?

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

