Whole Living Gal



[Fastest Ever] Carrot-only “Fried” Rice

I confess: all I wanted to eat for lunch today was toast and jam. But I knew I needed more. So after I ate my toast and jam, I decided to use what I had on hand to make a healthy lunch choice for myself.

I almost always have cooked brown rice in my fridge. It comes in handy for last-minute ideas like this. Plus, my 13-month-old loves it, so I often include it in her meal-time regime.

Here’s the basic recipe (guestimates):

1 tsp coconut oil
1/2 shredded carrot
3/4 cup cooked brown rice
1 Tbs Tamari soy sauce (or to taste)
1 tsp sesame oil
palmful sesame seeds

Shred the carrot into coconut oil that’s heating on medium heat on a skillet (shredded so it cooks faster). Saute for a few minutes. Add cooked rice, tamari, sesame oil, and sesame seeds. Mix together and let sit on hot skillet to brown a bit (makes good “crunchies” if you like).

Done.

That’s it. This seriously took me longer to make up in my head than to actually execute. I cooked, ate, and posted about this yummy lunch before my 13-month-old even missed me.

Veggie Note: Of course, you could add other veggies if you have them on hand and want to take it up a notch, but I needed something super SIMPLE today – and I enjoyed the sweetness of the carrots.

Oil Note: I used two different types of oils because that’s what I had on hand (I LOVE the flavor of both), but you can use whatever you have. However, if you don’t have these two oils on hand – I really recommend them, they’re delicious!

Happy healthy, easy, fast, cheap eating!

Leave a Reply

