Whole Living Gal



All Beginnings are Hard

I am re-reading a Chaim Potok book called In the Beginning.

The first sentence in the book reads, “All beginnings are hard.”

Since reading that sentence a week ago, it has silently become my mantra.

I am at the beginning of a lot of things these days.

I am teaching a new class, which is always more work at the beginning. I have also taken on producing a monthly event at my church – jumping onto a moving train takes some getting used to before you don’t feel rattled around.

But I’m also new to parenting. I haven’t been at it a year, and let’s face it, the learning curve is huge (does it ever stop, really?). When I was pregnant with my first, I was dreading the first 3 months after her birth because I thought that would be the main adjustment period, then I would go on with my new life as a mom. Looking back, the first three months were easy (heck, people were bringing us meals, my mom was still cleaning for me, and infants just sleep). It’s the settling in after that when I realized that my life was not going back to any kind of rhythm that I recognized that was more of a whiplash for me.

And my husband and I are still trying to figure out how to be married, with children. I honestly have to make an effort to put him before my daughter (if you saw her, you’d understand – she’s CUTE!) – and we are evaluating nearly every week how to keep our relationship in the forefront.

Now I’ve moved into the beginning of a new pregnancy. It’s hard enough adjusting to the idea of a new baby when you’re trying – but when it’s a surprise and then you’re sick…it messes with you. Or it messes with me. I am thrilled beyond belief to be having another baby. But the beginning of pregnancy is hard (well, all of pregnancy is hard) – if it wasn’t for the attention you start getting and the cuts in line and all the help with your bags… well, you get the idea.

Not only is the beginning of pregnancy hard, but I’m staring down the beginning of another new life.

I suppose I’m just feeling a little rustled recently…this on top of the fact that last winter was cold and dark and we didn’t even really get a summer and now there’s talk of snow. Anyone in the midwest feels my pain – the weather affects us!

But I digress…

I don’t want to be a downer about my life. All beginnings are hard, but all beginnings are good. There’s a reason God chose a bright shiny orb to shine down on us each morning after rising through a palette of color. The dawn is breathtaking. But you do have to wipe the sleep from your eyes and actually get out of bed to embrace the day, the new beginning.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Susan Saxe says:

    Such a pleasure to read and I relate to it all!!

    fellow trying to stay balanced mommy,
    Susan

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. I love the honesty of this post. Cause SO much of life is good and bad all at the same time and that is OK. And parenting and marriage could not be more like that. As someone “beginning” right now, I can totally relate.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Rachael R. says:

    I need that mantra too! I started two jobs at the same time and feel like a blind woman stumbling around wondering if it will EVER end or get better. Beginnings are supposed to be exciting, but I think they should go down as terrifying with an undercurrent of exciting. Thanks for sharing, Heather!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Luanne says:

    I’ve missed you in here 🙂
    All of these feelings are perfectly ok!! Even us “seasoned mom’s” go through these growing pains. Life is a journey and we all know journeys aren’t easy! You’ll make it through each and every difficult time :). You know where to fond me if needed!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  5. * Anita says:

    mmm… I love this “There’s a reason God chose a bright shiny orb to shine down on us each morning after rising through a palette of color.”

    I relate with this post through my unique journey. Thanks for sharing.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  6. * Wendy says:

    I too love the honesty of what you have said here. I am the mother of a 2 and 1/2 yr old girl who I love with all my heart but like you, I realized that the infant stage was actually the easy part. I fear that my daughter is so much like me – independent, strong willed, all those things that will do well for her when she is grown and on her own, but right now, it’s driving me crazy!!!!!!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

