Whole Living Gal



Autumn Vegetable Soup

I have this soup simmering on the stove for lunch today. I haven’t tried it yet, but it smells delicious. And, it’s a great way to use up odds and ends from my farm pick-up.

This recipe is from Simply in Season:

1/2 C onion (chopped)
2 cloves garlic (minced)
In a soup pot, saute onion in 1 Tbs olive oil over medium heat until soft. Add garlic and saute 1 min.

1/2 cup each: kale, cabbage, carrots, red or green sweet pepper (chopped)
1/2 tsp each: salt, dried basil, dried oregano
1/8 tsp pepper
Add and saute a little, then turn heat down to low, cover pan, and let cook about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

2 C bean cooking liquid or broth
1 C tomato juice
3/4 cup cooked beans
1/2 cup corn
2 tsp dried instant barley
2 tsp alphabet or orzo pasta
1 1/2 Tbs red cooking wine (optional – I used a little extra water)
Add and bring to a gentle boil and simmer about 15 minutes.

1/2 C tomatoes (chopped)
1 Tbs fresh parsley
Add tomatoes and parsley, simmer another few minutes.
::

I made a few changes to fit what I had on hand. I had no kale or cabbage, but I did have celery, which I added. I had some homemade chicken stock that I used and I had a can of black beans, which I used for the beans. I wish I had some white beans – that would be so tasty – but I didn’t have any of those on hand. Instead of dried, instant barley, I used a few Tbs of cooked brown rice that I already had on hand in the fridge.

I’m planning to serve this for lunch with garlic and Parmesan toast.

Leave a Reply

